Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We really loved this pie. My mom & grandma used to make chess pie & it was made with brown sugar. I think I prefer this one. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I baked this pie and it was delicious!!! This was the first pie I ever made including the crust. wow. my co workers just tasted it and allthumbs up. I now have to bake another one to let others taste it since 1 pie did not feed all. lol. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This pie is DELICIOUS! It's quickly beome a family favorite. I'd never heard of it until I moved to TN. After having it the first time, I understand why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reedler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe is like money! i have tried it twice! The first time it was a tad to sweet. After reading the reviews, I made some changes. I subbed 1 1/2 cups Brown Sugar, 4 eggs, 1 Tble Cornmeal, 2 teas vanilla, 1 teas cinnamon, 1/4 teas nutmeg. I baked crust for 7 minutes, then added mixture and baked for 1 hour and 30 minutes. WOW! This is a keeper and so so simple! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
i was disappointed with this recipe, especially after all the great reviews. it was, as others said, pretty "eggy". i even tried 4 eggs instead of 5. the sugar was a bit much. probably will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I never fail to get a compliment when I make this pie. Wonderful recipe. I will make this to the day I die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I make this every year for Thanksgiving for my family, in memory of my grandmother, and it is always a HUGE hit! In fact, I got requests for the pie for Christmas presents! My only modification: Add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the mix before pouring it into the pie shells! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Culbreth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I loved this pie but my husband said it was too "eggy". It certainly didn't stop him from eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Heavenly! I'd forgotten how amazing this childhood classic is. It's like... Southern Creme Brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Chess pie is my favorite of all and I always ask my aunt to make it for me but since I didn't go home this year I thought I'd try to make it myself. This is a delicious recipe! For those who thought this was to sweet, that's the way chess pie is supposed to be. It's a very sweet, rich pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States