Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Please just sprinkle a little nutmeg on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Since it was my first time making this pie, I made two. I altered the recipe for my dad. I replaced 1/3 of the sugar with splenda. Got lots of compliments on the pie. I will make again if requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary
Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made it and they did come! Good pie yall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I am giving this pie 4 stars because it contains too much sugar. I am as southern as it gets when it comes to taste and cooking but this was way too sweet. I will make this again but cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPERSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was way to sweet. But that would've been ok, except that it was also a greasy mess. I'm not sure if my technique was lackingg, but I followed the nixing directions and once the pie started to bake all the butter rose to the top. The pie itself was curdly and not the creamy custard type I was going for. It was so greasy that even after I soaked up the butter pooling in the middle the pie itself is soaked in greas, even the crust. I wished this had worked out, but it was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Love the taste and texture. Next time will use deep dish crust and I also had to cook for 5 mins longer. Taste just like it did when I was a kid growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This pie is delicious. Just like my great-grandma used to make, and that's a huge compliment! My son and I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great! Didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Easy to make, light fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The best and easiest buttermilk pie I have ever made. I get lots of great feedback as well! The bake time does need to be increased by about 5 -10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States