Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This recipe was a split vote in our hallway. Some folks loved it and others...well could leave it. It is sooo very rich, but tastes wonderful. Another review suggested straining the mixture to improve the consistency. We added extra Vanilla, and baked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Very easy recipe. With very common ingridents. I am not much of a baker but you couldn't tell it with the ease of this pie. My husband took it to work and he had several e-mails stating it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Excellent taste! Definitely should ut through a strainer to get smooth finsih.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was pretty good, a little too rich, so I think I would cut the sugar. It didn't firm up like custard like I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
this recipe is better than my mom's ever was. I've had more compliments on this pie than any other dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This pie is awesome. I made it for my brother and he went crazy over it. He ate the rest of it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Diboll, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
sorry but this pie wasnt very good not many ppl liked it .... i hope this comment dosent stop anyone from atleast trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was my first attempt at a Buttermilk Pie. IT turned out really good. Love the taste. I used smaller crusts and got 2 pies out of it pretty easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TEXASTREES
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
ENTIRELY too sweet, but has a great texture! I'll make it again and 1/2 the sugar. Really easy. I let it bake around 1 1/2 hours also. I'll be making it again in 4 days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASTREES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We all loved it and it stored so nicely in the fridge. Make sure the pie crust is deep-dish. Easy, quick and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena DeSouza Casari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States