Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Sweet, creamy filling under a thin, crispy top over a perfect flaky crust, YUMMY! Even better cold. I have made it three times since thanksgiving for my family and have only had two pieces. Must be good...I used a 9" deep dish and baked until it was puffy and golden on top, a little longer than 45 min. The top flattened out after it cooled and it was YUMMY FOR THE TUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I have several recipes for buttermilk pies. However, this one is going to the top of the list. Others turn out runny but this one cooked to a good consistency. I let it cook awhile longer than the recipe called for so that may be the reason why, but still it has a great taste and the texture is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
My Husband loooves this pie! I had never tried it and let me tell you it was like heaven! I'm making it for his birthday this Friday! I tried to cut the sugar and butter in half but it just wasn't the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was my first time making a chess pie and everyone LOVED it. My mom, who doesn't even like chess pie, loved it. I will be making more for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe like this for many years, ever since I had a buttermilk chess pie at a Mark's Feed Store restaurant. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not have too much filling - it was a perfect amount for a 9 inch pie. I did bake this pie about 10 minutes longer than recommended, though. This pie is very sweet, so unless you have a major sweet tooth (like me!), you won't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was SOOOO good! We loved it....had a great flavor and texture and definately satisfied the sweet tooth! I was looking for a quick and easy last minute dessert and this was perfect! I did have to bake an additional 15 minutes for my filling to set....probably because I used a 9 inch deep dish. Thanks for the recipe Krystina :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The pie was very delicious. My teenage daughter waited only 5 minutes after baking it to get a slice. I made a few changes to the recipeby using only 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of melted butter, 3 eggs and added some nutmeg. The consistency was fine and it was not too sweet. This is a winner in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Easy to make, but I agree you need a deep dish pie shell, I could only fit about 2/3 of the filling in the shell. The top was a little over cooked but that may just be the difference in my oven. Overall good taste. Never thought a chess pie would be so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
im originally from atlanta ga., since then have moved to virginia. a relative from dalton, ga. made the pie for me and since i have been in virginia no one knows what a buttermilk pie is nor have they heard of it. i was relieved to find the recipe on the site. any way i made the pie and it was just as i remembered it when i was a little girl. thanks a bunch for posting the recipe and helping me rekindle my childhood. sincerely yours, georgiapeach3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I love chess pie and this one is a winner! I did increase the cook time by 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States