Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this for Easter and it was a hit! Very tasty, I will certainly make it again. Only changes I made were 1 1/2 cups of sugar and I baked for 50 minutes. It looks bubbly and juicy when you take it out of the oven like it isn't done, yet it is, just has to set. Had some mixture leftover in the bowl, that's ok, I ate it with a spoon :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catheryn Sparkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ian Campbell
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I added a tbsp of cornmeal, added a bit of cinnamon & nutmeg, & didn't use a pie crust. it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Campbell
Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Best recipe for buttermilk pie I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I liked the fact that it was so quick to get into the oven.....however....It was forever before it was cooked in the middle. I also had a lot of butter bubbling up in the middle of the pie. I know it was overcooked in the end, but the flavor was terrific, so I'll try it again next week to figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hubbard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This pie was wonderful and a hit with the family. It is easy to make and the prep time was closer to 5 minutes than 30. I made two for Christmas Dinner and had requests for more on New Year's Day. Clockwork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The best pie ever! Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I liked the idea that "TasteKing" stated, so I put the coconut in the dish. Used no pie crust so it's more of a ??? It's baking right now. Can't wait ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe! I made it once and everybody told me that it should be my " specialty" for family/friend get togethers. I recommend eating warm with sugared raspberries and whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. You HAVE to try this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I used 3 Tablespoons of flour because I thought that's what I read. It is delicious and I made a second one and used 3T instead of 2T just because it was so good. 50 minutes at 350, turned the oven off and left it in the oven for another 10 minutes, took it out to cool. Cut it while it was still too hot to eat and it did not run. No clear liquid, zero liquid! This reminds me of pies my mother would bring home sometimes when I was a child. We called them custard pies. Doesn't matter what you call them they are fantastic. Thanks Kristina for a simple and most delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States