Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I liked the fact that it was so quick to get into the oven.....however....It was forever before it was cooked in the middle. I also had a lot of butter bubbling up in the middle of the pie. I know it was overcooked in the end, but the flavor was terrific, so I'll try it again next week to figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hubbard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This pie was wonderful and a hit with the family. It is easy to make and the prep time was closer to 5 minutes than 30. I made two for Christmas Dinner and had requests for more on New Year's Day. Clockwork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The best pie ever! Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I liked the idea that "TasteKing" stated, so I put the coconut in the dish. Used no pie crust so it's more of a ??? It's baking right now. Can't wait ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe! I made it once and everybody told me that it should be my " specialty" for family/friend get togethers. I recommend eating warm with sugared raspberries and whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. You HAVE to try this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I used 3 Tablespoons of flour because I thought that's what I read. It is delicious and I made a second one and used 3T instead of 2T just because it was so good. 50 minutes at 350, turned the oven off and left it in the oven for another 10 minutes, took it out to cool. Cut it while it was still too hot to eat and it did not run. No clear liquid, zero liquid! This reminds me of pies my mother would bring home sometimes when I was a child. We called them custard pies. Doesn't matter what you call them they are fantastic. Thanks Kristina for a simple and most delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I have never made anything similar to this, so I had to simply trust the recipe based on the positive reviews. A new friend expressed a desire for 'chess bars', so I settled on this recipe. I made it in a square dish (11"x7"?) and there was more than enough filling. I had to bake it longer because of the larger dish, but it turned out well. Southern husband says it's good....that's my rating system. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I fixed it exactly like the recipe, and it was delicious. You have to understand that chess pie is supposed to be very sweet, otherwise it would be called something else. Don't add anything or take away anything or cover it or change the recipe or cooking instructions. Enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States