Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I used 3 Tablespoons of flour because I thought that's what I read. It is delicious and I made a second one and used 3T instead of 2T just because it was so good. 50 minutes at 350, turned the oven off and left it in the oven for another 10 minutes, took it out to cool. Cut it while it was still too hot to eat and it did not run. No clear liquid, zero liquid! This reminds me of pies my mother would bring home sometimes when I was a child. We called them custard pies. Doesn't matter what you call them they are fantastic. Thanks Kristina for a simple and most delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I have never made anything similar to this, so I had to simply trust the recipe based on the positive reviews. A new friend expressed a desire for 'chess bars', so I settled on this recipe. I made it in a square dish (11"x7"?) and there was more than enough filling. I had to bake it longer because of the larger dish, but it turned out well. Southern husband says it's good....that's my rating system. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I fixed it exactly like the recipe, and it was delicious. You have to understand that chess pie is supposed to be very sweet, otherwise it would be called something else. Don't add anything or take away anything or cover it or change the recipe or cooking instructions. Enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Way too egg-y. I would definitely adjust this recipe before making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was as good or better than the chess pies my mom makes, and my grandmother before her. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I do a lot of quantity cooking, for about 50-75 people. This recipe worked GREAT to multiply to feed hungry young men! I needed about 60-70 servings. I multiplied the recipe by six and bought twelve frozen pre-made pie crusts (not deep dish). Note that means each recipe fills two pie crusts. I pre-baked the pie crusts on huge cookie sheets (best if you line them with foil to simplify cleanup) for about 10 minutes, till the crust was solidified but not browned. In making the batter, I reduced the amount of sugar by one-third, following other reviewers. I poured the batter into the baked pie shells, then sprinkled about 2 ounces of coconut on top of each pie. I covered the whole cookie sheet with foil and baked till they were puffy and golden. Absolutely delicious and very easy, plus a pretty cheap way to feed a very yummy dessert to a crowd! By my estimate, those 72 servings (a sixth of a pie) cost a total of about $23 to make (including the pie shells and coconut), so that's about 32 cents a serving to make. Quite a bargain for something so rich and delicious! If you wanted to add to it, you COULD add whipped cream but this pie stands very well on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I took the advice of other people's reviews and tried 1 less egg and 1/2 cup less sugar. Also cooked for an additional 10 minutes. This pie had absolutely NO flavor. Tasted nothing like chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
this tastes exactly like my mamaw's buttermilk pie, and she made the best! the recipe is very easy, although, I found I had to bake it about 15 minutes longer than it calls for. this pie is like crack. -alison f. in austin, tx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States