Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is very similar to the buttermilk chess we make at my restaurant. The only difference is that we add 4 ounces of dessicated coconut inside the shell before pouring in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I have several recipes for buttermilk pies. However, this one is going to the top of the list. Others turn out runny but this one cooked to a good consistency. I let it cook awhile longer than the recipe called for so that may be the reason why, but still it has a great taste and the texture is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This pie is fantastic! I made it on Easter and my mom asked me to make another one for her birthday. I suggest using a deep dish pie crust because there's too much filling for a standard 9-inch shell. I saved the extra and baked an 8-inch pie a few days later. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
absolutely awesome and easy as can be. I did find that I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer then the desired amount on the recipe card.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We all loved it and it stored so nicely in the fridge. Make sure the pie crust is deep-dish. Easy, quick and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena DeSouza Casari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is definitely a classic pie, but I just didn't fall in love with this one. (Mind you, my family loves this and would definitely kick me in the hiney for giving a mediocre review!) It had a good flavor and good texture, but I guess I miss the chocolate and peanut butter and marshmallows and all of that ooey, gooey stuff. Don't know if I'll make it again, but hope this doesn't discourage anyone from at least trying it. Thanks anyway Krystina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TEXASTREES
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
ENTIRELY too sweet, but has a great texture! I'll make it again and 1/2 the sugar. Really easy. I let it bake around 1 1/2 hours also. I'll be making it again in 4 days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASTREES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
It was so easy to make, I agree with the other the prep time was 5 min not 30. Very sweet next time I would use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I love chess pie and this one is a winner! I did increase the cook time by 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This recipe was a split vote in our hallway. Some folks loved it and others...well could leave it. It is sooo very rich, but tastes wonderful. Another review suggested straining the mixture to improve the consistency. We added extra Vanilla, and baked it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States