Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
This pie is fantastic! I made it on Easter and my mom asked me to make another one for her birthday. I suggest using a deep dish pie crust because there's too much filling for a standard 9-inch shell. I saved the extra and baked an 8-inch pie a few days later. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is definitely a classic pie, but I just didn't fall in love with this one. (Mind you, my family loves this and would definitely kick me in the hiney for giving a mediocre review!) It had a good flavor and good texture, but I guess I miss the chocolate and peanut butter and marshmallows and all of that ooey, gooey stuff. Don't know if I'll make it again, but hope this doesn't discourage anyone from at least trying it. Thanks anyway Krystina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
absolutely awesome and easy as can be. I did find that I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer then the desired amount on the recipe card.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I love chess pie and this one is a winner! I did increase the cook time by 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
im originally from atlanta ga., since then have moved to virginia. a relative from dalton, ga. made the pie for me and since i have been in virginia no one knows what a buttermilk pie is nor have they heard of it. i was relieved to find the recipe on the site. any way i made the pie and it was just as i remembered it when i was a little girl. thanks a bunch for posting the recipe and helping me rekindle my childhood. sincerely yours, georgiapeach3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Easy to make, but I agree you need a deep dish pie shell, I could only fit about 2/3 of the filling in the shell. The top was a little over cooked but that may just be the difference in my oven. Overall good taste. Never thought a chess pie would be so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The pie was very delicious. My teenage daughter waited only 5 minutes after baking it to get a slice. I made a few changes to the recipeby using only 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of melted butter, 3 eggs and added some nutmeg. The consistency was fine and it was not too sweet. This is a winner in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was SOOOO good! We loved it....had a great flavor and texture and definately satisfied the sweet tooth! I was looking for a quick and easy last minute dessert and this was perfect! I did have to bake an additional 15 minutes for my filling to set....probably because I used a 9 inch deep dish. Thanks for the recipe Krystina :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe like this for many years, ever since I had a buttermilk chess pie at a Mark's Feed Store restaurant. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not have too much filling - it was a perfect amount for a 9 inch pie. I did bake this pie about 10 minutes longer than recommended, though. This pie is very sweet, so unless you have a major sweet tooth (like me!), you won't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was my first time making a chess pie and everyone LOVED it. My mom, who doesn't even like chess pie, loved it. I will be making more for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States