Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had this for the first time in Houston at a historical reenactment and was blown away by it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
The pie itself tasted delicious. I had to keep it in the oven quite a bit longer than the recipe said. I think it was more like 1h15 by the time the filling was set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Make sure you use a deep dish pie crust! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
So so so GOOD! I, along with my entire family, LOVED this pie. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was that I left it in the oven 15 minutes longer than the recipe said. At 45 minutes it was very runny, so I upped the temp to 375 and cooked it for 15 minutes longer. This was the BEST pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Burnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was very good and so easy to make (prep time is less than 10 mins., not 30). Very sweet, I may cut back a little on the sugar next time. I baked as directed but it would not set up. I baked it for an additional 15 mins., then left in the oven for 5 or 10 mins. more with the oven off. It was still quite soft in the middle. It seemed to set up fairly well as it cooled but even after chilling all night, it was fairly runny when cutting. I would increase the heat to 375º and bake it closer to an hour next time. I made my own crust for a deep dish pie pan and it filled it up pretty well. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
It was so easy to make, I agree with the other the prep time was 5 min not 30. Very sweet next time I would use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allgrunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
My family really enjoyed this pie. It is similar to the one I usually make, perhaps a little sweeter. The only thing I did different was use two regular pie shells and poke a few holes in the bottom of the pie shells with a fork and rubbed with a tsp of sugar and cornmeal,then baked for about 5 minutes in preheated oven before filling with liquid mixture. Helps the crust stay a little flakier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was an acceptable buttermilk pie recipe however it was not nearly as rich and yummy as others I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
WOW!! I have been looking for a good recipe for Chess Pie for a long time, and I struck gold finding this one!! My husband loves chess pie, but I had never even tasted one before. I tried a different recipe a couple of years back and it was a disaster. I gave up until I saw this recipe and decided to give it another try. I am sooooo glad that I did. The recipe made two 9-inch pies, and I did bake it a bit longer. It was delicious. My husband and his family LOVED it. I gave the extra pie to my very pregnant best friend and lets just say it didn't last very long. Everyone is begging for the recipe!!! Thank You so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
It's very sweet and I thought it needs something to go with it, to add some more flavor. But my husband loved it. He ate it once mixed in with a serving of MaltoMeal. I just can't personally give it a 5 star cuz I didn't prefer it. & you need to bake it longer until it looks dark brown like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States