Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Heavenly! I'd forgotten how amazing this childhood classic is. It's like... Southern Creme Brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Chess pie is my favorite of all and I always ask my aunt to make it for me but since I didn't go home this year I thought I'd try to make it myself. This is a delicious recipe! For those who thought this was to sweet, that's the way chess pie is supposed to be. It's a very sweet, rich pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This recipe has become one of my families favorites! It is quick to make with ingredients we normally have around the house. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I doubled the amount of vanilla called for. I am going to try to modify the recipe next time I make it to make a chocolate chess pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The perfect Chess Pie. I got so many compliments, even from someone who has never cared for Chess Pie before. I am so thrilled that I have now replaced a recipe that was lost to our family when my great grandmother passed away. Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella2009
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Hi! I first want to say that this is the first pie I have ever baked! I am not a cook but after Thanksgiving I figured I would give it a try. I have eaten Chess Pie before and loved it. For my first time I was brave to alter the recipe but I did... I added a tablespoon of cornmeal and a teaspoon of white vinegar. Dont ask me why but it sounded good and luckly ended up being GREAT! My mom always added lemon juice to hers but I didnt really enjoy it that way. I cooked mine in a glass deep dish 9" pie dish. I did cook it for about 30 mins longer than suggested and let cool in oven. It was not soupy but set nicely and tasted wonderful. It browned and cracked perfectly on top. Be sure to put foil over the crust before you put it in or it will get too burnt. I remembered about 15 mins after I put it in and it was a hassle getting the foil on there since it was really liquidy and hot. All in all it was a great pie and super easy to make if I could do it. Plus an added bonus my home smells wonderful now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Pie ended up tasting like pound-cake-in-a-crust. Not altogether bad .... just not what I was looking for. I think I just prefer my chess pie more "custardy." UPDATE: 3/14/2012 -- I made this pie for "Pi Day." I'm not sure what I did differently, but this time it was very nicely "custardy," and very eggy (a good thing, for me). It was, though, tooth-achingly sweet, even after reducing the sugar by a half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Brought to potluck and coworkers said it was the best buttermilk chess pie they've had yet! Used mexican vanilla in recipe and cooked for 1hr 10 minutes for 1 full-regular pie crust. NOTE: You can get 2 pies out of this recipe using regular sized crust or 1 deep-dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was a very good recipe, and so quick and easy to make. The prep time was much less than 30 mins even when making my own crust and I cooked it a little longer until set (recipes ARE just guidelines after all). This is one of my go-to pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirakira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was good, but too eggy. Next time I won't used quite as many eggs. I also had to cook it about 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had this for the first time in Houston at a historical reenactment and was blown away by it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States