Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Joanne M
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Just like Grandma used to make! Followed recipe exactly. This is so simple and really a great tasting finish to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Made too many changes to give this 5*. Only had three eggs, so increased the buttermilk to 1 cup. Added just 1-1/4 cups sugar and it was sweet enough for us, and also cut the amount of butter in half. Also cooked it a bit longer. Great texture, great flavor,... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
We really loved this pie. My mom & grandma used to make chess pie & it was made with brown sugar. I think I prefer this one. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I baked this pie and it was delicious!!! This was the first pie I ever made including the crust. wow. my co workers just tasted it and allthumbs up. I now have to bake another one to let others taste it since 1 pie did not feed all. lol. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This pie is DELICIOUS! It's quickly beome a family favorite. I'd never heard of it until I moved to TN. After having it the first time, I understand why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reedler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe is like money! i have tried it twice! The first time it was a tad to sweet. After reading the reviews, I made some changes. I subbed 1 1/2 cups Brown Sugar, 4 eggs, 1 Tble Cornmeal, 2 teas vanilla, 1 teas cinnamon, 1/4 teas nutmeg. I baked crust for 7 minutes, then added mixture and baked for 1 hour and 30 minutes. WOW! This is a keeper and so so simple! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
i was disappointed with this recipe, especially after all the great reviews. it was, as others said, pretty "eggy". i even tried 4 eggs instead of 5. the sugar was a bit much. probably will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I never fail to get a compliment when I make this pie. Wonderful recipe. I will make this to the day I die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I make this every year for Thanksgiving for my family, in memory of my grandmother, and it is always a HUGE hit! In fact, I got requests for the pie for Christmas presents! My only modification: Add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the mix before pouring it into the pie shells! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States