Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Chess pie is wonderful stuff. Anyone know if there's a difference if using cultured buttermilk (cultured skim milk) vs. old-fashioned buttermilk (cultured milk left after butter-making)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MixieArmadillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Super easy to make! Rich and sweet . . . a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this pie many years ago and lost the recipe. This is an awesome pie and I am so glad I found it again. It was delicious. My family loved it! I will make this pie again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Loved it! Need to use a deep dish pie crust, though. And I baked it a little more than 45 min. Just kept an eye on it. It's my mother's favorite pie and she says it's one of the best she's ever had! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I have made this a few times and hardly ever alter it! One time I did and added a pinch of cinnamon. Or was it nutmeg...No it was cinnamon LOL and it was awesome! Matter of fact, I'm going to bake another right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was an okay recipe. Like some of the other reviewers said, I probably could have gotten away using less sugar, and it was really eggy tasting. I'm not sure if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
too eggy this recipe was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Beall Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I simply LOVE this pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States