Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
wow. this is good. VERY sweet- i don't know if i was expecting it to be sooo sweet. might try to cut back on the sugar just little each time i make it & see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was simple and a huge hit. I made 10 pies and the reviews I got were all great. Many said it was the best pie they ever had. I did not change a thing, and this recipe made 2/ 9" pies. I made this for a fundraiser bake sale. I made a "test" pie, which was gobbled up. Thanks for the recipe~ it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good. Right out of the oven i thought it was too sweet and buttery but once it cooled it was really good... still a tad too sweet but still good considering i couldn't stop nabbin' a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Everyone LOVES this pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEREDITHRS
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious old fashioned "comfort food". I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written and it turned out AWESOME!!!!! Reminds me of the pie my Aunt Bertha used to make for our family reunions in Cookville, TN!!! Thank you for sharing this WONDERFUL, old time recipe! Definitely a "must bake" pie for your family, too!!! YUM-a-licious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Chess pie is wonderful stuff. Anyone know if there's a difference if using cultured buttermilk (cultured skim milk) vs. old-fashioned buttermilk (cultured milk left after butter-making)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MixieArmadillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Super easy to make! Rich and sweet . . . a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this pie many years ago and lost the recipe. This is an awesome pie and I am so glad I found it again. It was delicious. My family loved it! I will make this pie again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Loved it! Need to use a deep dish pie crust, though. And I baked it a little more than 45 min. Just kept an eye on it. It's my mother's favorite pie and she says it's one of the best she's ever had! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This recipe is perfect! I have made this a few times and hardly ever alter it! One time I did and added a pinch of cinnamon. Or was it nutmeg...No it was cinnamon LOL and it was awesome! Matter of fact, I'm going to bake another right now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States