Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Easy for a chess pie recipe. Not quite the southern classic I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmills

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great Pie and easy to! After reading others I did add the coconut (2 oz) to pie shell and it was great. I also preheated to 450° and turned down to 350° when I put the pie in, I also left the pie in after 45 min. and turned the oven off to let the pie cool. It came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe on this exactly and it was just what we were looking for, sweet, smooth and buttery. I made a second pie and added a good handful of toasted coconut to the filling before pouring it into the crust and it turned out great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. I wouldn't make it again. I felt the texture should have been silkier. It tasted ok, but it was kind of boring especially for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie was so GOOD! Took the advise of other and baked about 55 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have been eating chess pie all my life. My granny made this from a recipe in her head. Unfortunately she cant remember it anymore :( The first time I made this, I felt like it had way to much egg. I adjusted this time. I only did 4 eggs and I also strained the mixture. OMG it worked wonders on this pie. It is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I thought this pie was excellent. It may well be my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
wow. this is good. VERY sweet- i don't know if i was expecting it to be sooo sweet. might try to cut back on the sugar just little each time i make it & see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was simple and a huge hit. I made 10 pies and the reviews I got were all great. Many said it was the best pie they ever had. I did not change a thing, and this recipe made 2/ 9" pies. I made this for a fundraiser bake sale. I made a "test" pie, which was gobbled up. Thanks for the recipe~ it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States