Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I'd eat the entire pie at once, if it didn't make me feel guilty. I cut both the butter and sweetener in half: I use 1/4 butter, 1/2 C. sugar, and 1/2 C. Splenda. I also use heaping tablespoons of the flour. This recipe is perfect for a 9-inch Pyrex pie plate, and the cooking time is as stated (45 min.) in my oven. It's one of our favorites. UPDATE 12-29-11: I made the most outstanding topping for this recipe. I needed a filler for my pie, which rattled around in a 10-inch pie pan: Whip together 1 8-oz. tub marscarpone cheese; 1 cup whipping cream; a few T. sugar; and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Spread this topping on the cooled Chess Pie and refrigerate. I happened to have those extra ingredients in the fridge to use up after Xmas, and this equates to one rich (and deliciously decadent) pie -- only to be consumed on special occasions. The way I make it, it's not too sweet at all. Cut back on all that butter and sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is the best chess pie recipe I've EVER come across. I didn't make any alterations and it was DELICIOUS! I was able to fill 2 regular pie crusts with this recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Easy for a chess pie recipe. Not quite the southern classic I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmills

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great Pie and easy to! After reading others I did add the coconut (2 oz) to pie shell and it was great. I also preheated to 450° and turned down to 350° when I put the pie in, I also left the pie in after 45 min. and turned the oven off to let the pie cool. It came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe on this exactly and it was just what we were looking for, sweet, smooth and buttery. I made a second pie and added a good handful of toasted coconut to the filling before pouring it into the crust and it turned out great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving. I wouldn't make it again. I felt the texture should have been silkier. It tasted ok, but it was kind of boring especially for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This pie was so GOOD! Took the advise of other and baked about 55 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have been eating chess pie all my life. My granny made this from a recipe in her head. Unfortunately she cant remember it anymore :( The first time I made this, I felt like it had way to much egg. I adjusted this time. I only did 4 eggs and I also strained the mixture. OMG it worked wonders on this pie. It is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I thought this pie was excellent. It may well be my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States