Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Way too egg-y. I would definitely adjust this recipe before making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was as good or better than the chess pies my mom makes, and my grandmother before her. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I do a lot of quantity cooking, for about 50-75 people. This recipe worked GREAT to multiply to feed hungry young men! I needed about 60-70 servings. I multiplied the recipe by six and bought twelve frozen pre-made pie crusts (not deep dish). Note that means each recipe fills two pie crusts. I pre-baked the pie crusts on huge cookie sheets (best if you line them with foil to simplify cleanup) for about 10 minutes, till the crust was solidified but not browned. In making the batter, I reduced the amount of sugar by one-third, following other reviewers. I poured the batter into the baked pie shells, then sprinkled about 2 ounces of coconut on top of each pie. I covered the whole cookie sheet with foil and baked till they were puffy and golden. Absolutely delicious and very easy, plus a pretty cheap way to feed a very yummy dessert to a crowd! By my estimate, those 72 servings (a sixth of a pie) cost a total of about $23 to make (including the pie shells and coconut), so that's about 32 cents a serving to make. Quite a bargain for something so rich and delicious! If you wanted to add to it, you COULD add whipped cream but this pie stands very well on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I took the advice of other people's reviews and tried 1 less egg and 1/2 cup less sugar. Also cooked for an additional 10 minutes. This pie had absolutely NO flavor. Tasted nothing like chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
this tastes exactly like my mamaw's buttermilk pie, and she made the best! the recipe is very easy, although, I found I had to bake it about 15 minutes longer than it calls for. this pie is like crack. -alison f. in austin, tx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Yes, it's sweet. Chess pie is supposed to be sweet. ;) I made it exactly as the recipe was written & it turned out great! I didn't have any problems with butter oozing in the middle at all. I'm wondering if those who did, may have used margarine instead of real butter? Or maybe made a deep dish pie, which would have made the custard thicker? I did half the recipe, which was just enough to make one reg. 9 in. pie (not deep dish). And, of course... used my pie shell ring to keep the edges from burning. If you like chess pie, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I bake this pie for 1 hour to 1.25 hours. There may be a little "moisture" (i.e. butter!) in the center of the pie when done. I just use a clean paper towel to absorb the extra moisture. I also wrap my pie edges with foil to prevent over browning. And I generally place the empty pie shell on the oven rack, and pour the pie mixture directly into the pie shell, and carefully slide the rack into place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Followed the ingredients exactly... It is a little too sweet but I love it!!! As for the directions... I added foil around the pie crust and baked for 55 minutes. The pie came out golden brown and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neilsgrayson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Not bad. It was my first time and like some of the other reviews I did make a slight change. I used 4 eggs instead of 5. It was a little loose in the middle by the end of the 45 min time, but I left it in the oven with the heat turned off and it helped. Once it set it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Please just sprinkle a little nutmeg on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States