Buttermilk Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was my first attempt at a Buttermilk Pie. IT turned out really good. Love the taste. I used smaller crusts and got 2 pies out of it pretty easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TEXASTREES
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
ENTIRELY too sweet, but has a great texture! I'll make it again and 1/2 the sugar. Really easy. I let it bake around 1 1/2 hours also. I'll be making it again in 4 days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASTREES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
We all loved it and it stored so nicely in the fridge. Make sure the pie crust is deep-dish. Easy, quick and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena DeSouza Casari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Wonderful recipe! Tastes so good my family fights over it. My husband wants me to make this pie every week! I turned down the temperature just a little bit and it takes about 1.5 hours to cook, but I will never complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Sweet, creamy filling under a thin, crispy top over a perfect flaky crust, YUMMY! Even better cold. I have made it three times since thanksgiving for my family and have only had two pieces. Must be good...I used a 9" deep dish and baked until it was puffy and golden on top, a little longer than 45 min. The top flattened out after it cooled and it was YUMMY FOR THE TUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I have several recipes for buttermilk pies. However, this one is going to the top of the list. Others turn out runny but this one cooked to a good consistency. I let it cook awhile longer than the recipe called for so that may be the reason why, but still it has a great taste and the texture is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
My Husband loooves this pie! I had never tried it and let me tell you it was like heaven! I'm making it for his birthday this Friday! I tried to cut the sugar and butter in half but it just wasn't the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was my first time making a chess pie and everyone LOVED it. My mom, who doesn't even like chess pie, loved it. I will be making more for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe like this for many years, ever since I had a buttermilk chess pie at a Mark's Feed Store restaurant. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I did not have too much filling - it was a perfect amount for a 9 inch pie. I did bake this pie about 10 minutes longer than recommended, though. This pie is very sweet, so unless you have a major sweet tooth (like me!), you won't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was SOOOO good! We loved it....had a great flavor and texture and definately satisfied the sweet tooth! I was looking for a quick and easy last minute dessert and this was perfect! I did have to bake an additional 15 minutes for my filling to set....probably because I used a 9 inch deep dish. Thanks for the recipe Krystina :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States