Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very good bread! Used 1/2cup honey instead of sugar. Will def be making again! Excellent rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This bread is spectacular. Soft,great texture,smells wonderful,will definently make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It is a wonderful recipe! Soft and tender crumb-perfect for hamburger buns as well as dinner rolls and warm loaves from the oven. This is now my "go-to" recipe for homemade sandwich rolls. Stays soft-my son says he asks for hamburgers just to have me make these. The rolls in the picture just came out of the oven, then were brushed with honey butter-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1horseshay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is now my go to recipe for bread! Absolutly fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I did not proof the yeast and I should have. This didn't rise much at all for me. But - I baked what I had and it made for a yummy bread. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I just made this a my boyfriend said that this was the best homemade bread I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim806

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I agree this recipe turned out much too dry. Not one I like--I'll go back to my whey recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was okay. Even when freshly baked, the buttermilk "tang" was not pronounced and lessened, quickly, over time; a couple days after baking it was just a too sweetish white bread. Watch for over-proofing as with two packs of yeast and a quarter cup of sugar, there'll be a lot (!!!!) of CO2 released. The both rises happen very quickly. Additionally, this is a very dense bread; toast is about what it's good for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heikas
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
WOW, this is delicious. I mixed the dough in my bread machine, and it looked dry after the first heavy mixing. I added a half a cup of milk, and it turned into the most amazing looking dough after that! It rose perfect, smelled delicious. When the dough cycle on the machine was finished, I removed the dough and shaped it into 2 loaves rather than put it in pans. I let it rise again, gave the tops a few slashes with a knife, and baked it for a half an hour. It rose more while it baked, and the bread turned out beautiful. I brushed butter on the top of the loaves when it was done so the crust wouldn't be hard, let it cool a bit, and tried it. Oh, my. Such flavor! This bread is perfect yeasty goodness, dense and moist and satisfying. My husband and I had slices toasted today with breakfast, and I just can't get over how perfect of a bread this is. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. Great recipe, thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Ive made this 5-6 times now. It is simple & moist and delicious every time. No bread machine and no substitutions! As far as I am concerned this recipe has already been perfected. Thanks Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States