Buttermilk Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very good bread! Used 1/2cup honey instead of sugar. Will def be making again! Excellent rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This bread is spectacular. Soft,great texture,smells wonderful,will definently make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It is a wonderful recipe! Soft and tender crumb-perfect for hamburger buns as well as dinner rolls and warm loaves from the oven. This is now my "go-to" recipe for homemade sandwich rolls. Stays soft-my son says he asks for hamburgers just to have me make these. The rolls in the picture just came out of the oven, then were brushed with honey butter-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1horseshay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is now my go to recipe for bread! Absolutly fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I did not proof the yeast and I should have. This didn't rise much at all for me. But - I baked what I had and it made for a yummy bread. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I just made this a my boyfriend said that this was the best homemade bread I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim806

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I agree this recipe turned out much too dry. Not one I like--I'll go back to my whey recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It was okay. Even when freshly baked, the buttermilk "tang" was not pronounced and lessened, quickly, over time; a couple days after baking it was just a too sweetish white bread. Watch for over-proofing as with two packs of yeast and a quarter cup of sugar, there'll be a lot (!!!!) of CO2 released. The both rises happen very quickly. Additionally, this is a very dense bread; toast is about what it's good for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heikas
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
WOW, this is delicious. I mixed the dough in my bread machine, and it looked dry after the first heavy mixing. I added a half a cup of milk, and it turned into the most amazing looking dough after that! It rose perfect, smelled delicious. When the dough cycle on the machine was finished, I removed the dough and shaped it into 2 loaves rather than put it in pans. I let it rise again, gave the tops a few slashes with a knife, and baked it for a half an hour. It rose more while it baked, and the bread turned out beautiful. I brushed butter on the top of the loaves when it was done so the crust wouldn't be hard, let it cool a bit, and tried it. Oh, my. Such flavor! This bread is perfect yeasty goodness, dense and moist and satisfying. My husband and I had slices toasted today with breakfast, and I just can't get over how perfect of a bread this is. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. Great recipe, thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Ive made this 5-6 times now. It is simple & moist and delicious every time. No bread machine and no substitutions! As far as I am concerned this recipe has already been perfected. Thanks Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States