Buttermilk Biscuits III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I love these biscuits, next time I make them I'll probably add some more sugar just to sweeten it a tad to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
Delicious biscuits!! These biscuits taste like the ones my southern grandmother made when I was a child. My daughter loved these and I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Our biscuits turned out great! We served them with a country gravy recipe found on here and everyone loved them. The first time I made them I used a left-over oil blend from frying vegetables. The second time around I used regular ol' shortening with a wee bit of salt. I used whole wheat flour instead the second time and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
So simple and easy to make! I rolled mine out thick and got thick biscuits. About 2" thick. Also, I did not have shortening, so I used vegetable oil. They were not as fluffy as my grandmother used to make them, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraciesSister526

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
oh what can i say, yummy homemade taste. thank you so much for sharing your recipe cher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Great biscuits!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
there were light and fluffy and really yummy. i used plain yoghurt as i didnt have any buttermilk, worked fine, i thought next time i would try flavoured yoghurt for a sweet one. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poppet50c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waitakere , Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Great taste, very much like Cracker Barrel in taste. Just 5 more minutes in prep than easy drop biscuits, why not make them? Mine were a wee bit flat because I was out of baking powder, but still fluffy inside. Also, I baked them at 350 instead of 400 to ensure the bottoms didn't get too crispy. Tip: Use whole buttermilk, not the fat free kind. This gives them a more authentic taste that is memorable. Exactly the same kind of biscuits made in Appalachia for a century.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great biscuits - very easy to make. I cut the recipe in half and used butter-flavored shortening and upped the sugar to a Tbsp. After mixing the dough together I let it set in the fridge for a few hours before rolling it out and cuttting it. I didn't brush the biscuits with buttermilk, but with melted butter during the last five minutes of baking. They come out light, moist, and fluffy. Plus they rise nice and high. Overall, very good especially the next day with butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made these as directed. For the self rising flour, I used the recipe from this site because I could not find it at the store. The biscuits were pretty easy and quick to make, but the finished product was not as flavorful as I hoped. They were pretty bland by themselves. However, I am still rating this 4 stars because if you put some honey on them and serve them warm, they are really quite good. I can also see them being served with gravy or perhaps some kind of chicken and dumpling mixture and being good that way too. I just don't recommend eating them by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States