Buttermilk Biscuits III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
Delicious biscuits!! These biscuits taste like the ones my southern grandmother made when I was a child. My daughter loved these and I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
oh what can i say, yummy homemade taste. thank you so much for sharing your recipe cher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Texture was OK, but not as light or fluffy as I would have liked. Also, the biscuit was pretty much flavorless! They may be palatable if soaked in gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
The biscuits were nice and crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. By themselves they had very little flavor, but with a little sausage gravy or some honey and butter, they were ok. I did not roll out the biscuits and cut them, but I formed them loosely by hand to avoid overmixing. Even after doing that, the biscuits did not rise very much. I also had to cook them a few minutes longer under the broiler to get the tops to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Very good with great flavor. A little more crispy on the bottom than I like but next time i will try 350 instead of 400. This is the first time i have found a recipe that worked for me. I usually use a mix. Thanks very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
These biscuits had a very good flavor. I didn't have self-rising flour so added 1 1/4 tsp baking powder and pinch of salt for each cup flour. They didn't darken but were a light golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
My husband's great grandmother made the best (so I've heard) buttermilk biscuits on Earth. She passed it down to his grandmother, she passed it down to his mother, and she passed it down to me. I decided to be prissy and find another recipe for buttermilk biscuits. These aren't as good as Mawmaw's. My husband says they taste like the biscuits he loves at a small country resturaunt, but I think there's something missing. Strange because Mawmaw's recipe only calls for 3 ingredients: self-rising flour, shortening, and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Ok but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79xlch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Great biscuits!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
These biscuits were a nice texture, but I'd recommend to add a little salt because they were kinda tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States