Buttermilk-Battered Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This recipe is very good however for best results soak the squid in 2 cups of buttermilk for 2 hours, it makes it very tender then drain in a colander, dump all of the squid into flour mixture but up the amount of flour to 2 cups and toss with your hands and then deep fry, I also don't add the oregano, don't really know why but I like it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Better than most restaurant calamari. We added cayenne seasoning and Emeril's Essence to the flour mixture, and it gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
So light the calamari almost floats off the plate. I've tried many different recipes but now my search is over. This is one I'll engrain in memory and use from now on. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made these last night for Superbowl and they were delish. The only change I made was to add some cajun seasoning. The secret to any calamari is too NOT OVERCOOK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I made some changes to this recipe, first I placed the sliced calamari in the buttermilk and added some emeril's bayou blast and allowed it to sit for 20 minutes. Then I took some flour and added some bayou blast to the flour. I dredged the calamari in the flour mixture and sifted to remove the excess. Then I deep fried it until slightly golden in color, about 2 to 3 minutes. Then afterwards I drained it, and sprinkled about 1 tsp bayou blast, and 1 Tbsp parmesan cheese on top of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Great recipe. Although I did alter it slightly. I took the advice of others and soak in the buttermilk. I also added cayenne pepper instead of the oregano. I used a deep fryer, which made it so easy. I believe it was a lot better than anything I have had in the restaurants. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Not a fan. . . The buttermilk cooks and burns too quickly in the oil and I am scared the squid didn't cook all the way through. On top of that, I like a larger compilation of ingredients to season my oil fried recipes (cayenne, worcestershire, lemon juice, tobasco, preferred seasoning salts, etc) and I don't usually care for certain recipes that don't use such things and in turn come out underseasoned. . . I don't even think the aioli or dressing could have made up for it. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
It was better than most restaurant calamari I've had! I soaked the squid in buttermilk for 2 hours and used whole wheat flour instead of white....It turned out great! We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
We all really enjoyed this recipe. It is moderately expensive because of the squid, but very easy to make. Who would've figured, buttermilk and calamari being good together. Subbed. olive oil for veggie, but that's only because we had it on hand. Otherwise this was followed exactly and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've made this calamari several times. It's so easy and everyone loves it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States