Buttermilk-Battered Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've made this calamari several times. It's so easy and everyone loves it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Very restaurant-like, although it is hard to keep the batter on during the frying process. A deep fryer (roto-fryer or fry daddy) might help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
A quick, easy, and yummy appetizer--a sure-fire crowd-pleaser! Even if the batter doesn't adhere as expected, it's a minor distraction from this tasty starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This was so good...we go to a little Greek restaurant all the time and order calamari...this was just as good as theirs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Better than most restaurant calamari. We added cayenne seasoning and Emeril's Essence to the flour mixture, and it gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I found this to be very good, the only thing that I did was drege the squid pieces through the flour first, then buttermilk then the flour again. I found the batter stayed on nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Very good recipe. I am curious as to why the buttermilk was used. I didn't notice any extra flavor because of it, but I marinated the squid for 30 min. before frying. I also added diced sweet onion to the finished product, and served it with tzatziki dip. Will add more seasoning next time, but highly successful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I made some changes to this recipe, first I placed the sliced calamari in the buttermilk and added some emeril's bayou blast and allowed it to sit for 20 minutes. Then I took some flour and added some bayou blast to the flour. I dredged the calamari in the flour mixture and sifted to remove the excess. Then I deep fried it until slightly golden in color, about 2 to 3 minutes. Then afterwards I drained it, and sprinkled about 1 tsp bayou blast, and 1 Tbsp parmesan cheese on top of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This recipe is very good however for best results soak the squid in 2 cups of buttermilk for 2 hours, it makes it very tender then drain in a colander, dump all of the squid into flour mixture but up the amount of flour to 2 cups and toss with your hands and then deep fry, I also don't add the oregano, don't really know why but I like it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
It was better than most restaurant calamari I've had! I soaked the squid in buttermilk for 2 hours and used whole wheat flour instead of white....It turned out great! We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States