Buttermilk-Battered Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Not a fan. . . The buttermilk cooks and burns too quickly in the oil and I am scared the squid didn't cook all the way through. On top of that, I like a larger compilation of ingredients to season my oil fried recipes (cayenne, worcestershire, lemon juice, tobasco, preferred seasoning salts, etc) and I don't usually care for certain recipes that don't use such things and in turn come out underseasoned. . . I don't even think the aioli or dressing could have made up for it. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My husband said it was too salty, but I thought it was wonderful. I never knew it was so easy to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very tasty! This was my first attempt at making calamari at home, and I was pleased with the results. I soaked the calamari in the buttermilk for a few hours. I found that the flour stuck to the pieces quite nicely, even after being cooked. I think having the oil (I used canola) quite hot before you drop them in helps. Also, I would highly recommend cooking your calamari only a couple of minutes on each side (more or less depending on the size of your rings.) Even if the pieces aren't browned, I would remove them, otherwise you risk overcooking the calamari, and overcooked calamari is on the rubbery side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was better than restaurant calamari. First time I made calamari too! My husband thought it was outstanding, and he is very critical when it comes to food. I bought very fresh calamari from whole foods, and it was not too chewy at all or rubbery. It was very tender and just excellent really. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
So light the calamari almost floats off the plate. I've tried many different recipes but now my search is over. This is one I'll engrain in memory and use from now on. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made these last night for Superbowl and they were delish. The only change I made was to add some cajun seasoning. The secret to any calamari is too NOT OVERCOOK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Great recipe. Although I did alter it slightly. I took the advice of others and soak in the buttermilk. I also added cayenne pepper instead of the oregano. I used a deep fryer, which made it so easy. I believe it was a lot better than anything I have had in the restaurants. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Superb! Even my 8 year old daughter cleaned her plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
it's been a few years since ive had calamari, and that was at a restaurant. since that last time i got diagnosed with a condition that left me to follow a very strict diet. after finding this recipe, i had to tweak it a bit, and im sorry for those of u who don't believe in rating recipes if it's been messed with...but using this as a jump off point i was able to enjoy restaurant quality calamari again! i left the squid rings in the buttermilk overnight to marinate; i didn't have all the ingredients i needed and ended up coating the squid rings in arrowroot starch, no spices except a pinch of cayenne. they still turned out great! a few pieces were tough, but i think that could've been because the squid i had were the huge ones...that and i can only use olive oil due to the dietary cocerns. i thought this would affect the flavour -i really don't prefer the taste of oo- but it didn't! if i could i'd try this to a 't', but for those of u who can, definitely try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States