Buttermilk-Battered Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
great basic batter recipe. i use mrs dash seasonings instead of oregano. i've used skim milk also. always good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
soak in milk and add cajun seasoning to the batter. Cook only about 2 min. Don't make too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Crispy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Ok but not really exceptional. I'll probably make it again but I wouldn't serve it for anything but a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
these came out so perfect...we were able to make them up ahead of time and then just deep fry at the last minute for a party...they were gone instantly! just make sure not to overcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Loved it!! Soaked the calamari for 24 hours in the buttermilk and were they tender. Will definitely make again. Be careful not to over fry, they cook very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Just like they serve in the restaurants. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was the best I've ever made. The buttermilk makesw the calamari tender and the flour adheres better. One note, be sure you allow the oil to come back to 375 before frying another batch. My guests were eating faster than I could make it and some were cooked at a lower temp hence some were not as crisp as they should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
WOW!! This recipe was wonderful -- I made it for Christmas Eve for the family and everyone (including the kids) loved it. They're already asking me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raritan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I really liked this recipe. We were trying to figure out what to do with some calamari we had frozen in our freezer, and this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States