Buttermilk-Battered Calamari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We loved this recipe. I don't know if buttermilk is the reason, but the dough is very light and fluffy. I served with garlic-yogurt-dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
What is it that makes this so incredible? The buttermilk? The ratio of salt/pepper/flour/oregano? I've used the buttermilk and this flouring ratio on Squid, Tilapia, and Catfish - great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamkukuk
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I was surprised that this recipe came out so well. Only 4 stars cuz the batter didn't stick so well to the calamari. I did add in some extra spice seasonings to the flour and some panko too. Great starter recipe and I can't wait to make again!! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
So simple yet so good! Even good quality frozen squid rings work well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurray
Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Not sure why everyone raved about this. Needed to add lots more seasoning to the calamari after we cooked them. Recipe had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandihoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Doubled the S&P and oregano and added some paprika and some panko crumbs to the flour. Still a tad bland but perked up after the lemon was squeezed. I let the rings rest for 10 after dredging then dredged again right before frying, didn't have any issue with coating staying put. For me the downside was they were crisp right out of the oil but didn't stay that way for long. Too much residual moisture from the buttermilk? Maybe I should have drained longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Amazing recipe! We took advice from another rating and soaked the calamari for two hours in the buttermilk. I added paprika and salt and pepper to the oregano in the flour, and garnished with parsley when it was done frying. Better than any restaurant calamari we've ever had. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpenhos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
"Talk Like A Pirate" party guests inhaled two and half pounds of this, and commented on it being exceptionally tender (thanks to the buttermilk?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I soaked the squid for 2 hours, and added 2 Tsp Old Bay seasoning, and 2 Tsp Smoked Paprika to the 2 cups of Flour. Made it wonderfully spicy and smoky tasting. Squeeze fresh lemon wedges over it before you enjoy this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Delicious recipe... I added a little panko bread crumbs into my flour as well... I had calamari steaks which I fried whole and the sliced up and served with Katsu sauce... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States