Butterkuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
this is truly a great cake to enjoy with a good cup of coffee.Best eaten whilst still warm and has yummy buttery and sugar topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Thanks Janice! A friend of the family had been bringing my family a German style coffee cake for several years. She recently passed away, and I've been searching for a recipe like hers. This was it! It will remain a tradition thanks to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My mother was famous for her butterkuchen, and had to bring it to many family functions. When we asked her for the recipe, she said she couldn't tell us because she just mixed until it looked right. I think we have the recipe now. The only difference is my mother would add chopped walnut to the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I really liked it, and it wasn't too hard even for someone with as little cooking experience as me. The sugar-butter topping in the last step is way too thick to "sprinkle" as it says, and that was after adding about another half cup of sugar. It turned out really well, though, and it is very interesting-looking, like the grand canyon. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This recipe is just what I was looking for, a not-to-sweet coffee cake that doesn't taste like baking powder. My husband, who doesn't like cake, really liked it. Thanks Janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I have been making Butter Kuchen for many years, my german grandmother (nana) used to make it, the only difference between this and the Butter Kuchen I make is, I let it rise in a bowl covered with plastic wrap, then roll it out onto a big greased cookie sheet,cover,(let it rise again), put indentations in the top every 2 inches, then put butter in them, and then sprinkle with the whole top of the Butter Kuchen with sugar, & bake it at 350 deg. Butter Kuchen is absolutely fantastic !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wonderful cake! Brought it to an family Oktoberfest and it was a hit. Hubby said it's better than Cinnabon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good...I do believe next time I will use a larger pan though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My son made this (with my help) for school. It was easy to make and we used the cookie sheet as suggested in a review. Two mistakes- spead thinner on a cookie sheet, we should have reduced baking time; also, we didn't spread the dough fully so butter pooled in the corners of the pan - and then as the cake baked it pushed the butter out and burned on the bottom of my oven. (smoke alarm!!!) It was very good fresh out of the oven, but very dry by the end of the day. The last line of the recipe says "syrupy" - ours never became syrupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is tasty and simple to make. A very good yeast first-timer recipe. It needed more spice in my opinion but was soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States