Butterkuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindybee
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was fairly easy to make and turned out well but it's VERY rich. I remember my German mother's Butterkuchen to be much lighter. Still, worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The best part is the topping, which I had adjusted the sugar by the way because I thought that was way too much. I have also cut the dough down to half just to test it out using a smaller baking pan. It rose beautifully (1 hr of rising) and the surface dotted with bubbles.... a good sign. Well, the results came out dry and bland. I think this would be good as a bar. It was just too much dry dough, so next time I would use a 9x13 pan using half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
yummy--just like my oma and mama in germany used to make--id recommend a bigger pan however--too thick otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altenkunstadt, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My son made this (with my help) for school. It was easy to make and we used the cookie sheet as suggested in a review. Two mistakes- spead thinner on a cookie sheet, we should have reduced baking time; also, we didn't spread the dough fully so butter pooled in the corners of the pan - and then as the cake baked it pushed the butter out and burned on the bottom of my oven. (smoke alarm!!!) It was very good fresh out of the oven, but very dry by the end of the day. The last line of the recipe says "syrupy" - ours never became syrupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is tasty and simple to make. A very good yeast first-timer recipe. It needed more spice in my opinion but was soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good...I do believe next time I will use a larger pan though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I really liked it, and it wasn't too hard even for someone with as little cooking experience as me. The sugar-butter topping in the last step is way too thick to "sprinkle" as it says, and that was after adding about another half cup of sugar. It turned out really well, though, and it is very interesting-looking, like the grand canyon. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My mother was famous for her butterkuchen, and had to bring it to many family functions. When we asked her for the recipe, she said she couldn't tell us because she just mixed until it looked right. I think we have the recipe now. The only difference is my mother would add chopped walnut to the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wonderful cake! Brought it to an family Oktoberfest and it was a hit. Hubby said it's better than Cinnabon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States