Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is my third year making these rolls for Thanksgiving... They are the BEST. My family is always asking if I will bring them to whatever holiday we are celebrating. They are a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
They are so easy and sooooo good. I have made them before and loved them. This year I was going to make them for Thanksgiving but one of my guests came really early and distracted me so I forgot to take them out of the fridge to let them raise so they didn't get made. Yesterday (Saturday), which was 3 days after I put them on the fridge, I finally got around to making them and they still raised fine and were delicious. So that is good to know for the future - you can make them way ahead. Also, I actually let them raise in a warm oven (I heated it to 200 and then turned it off and put the rolls in) and they were good to go in 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are great. If you're looking for fancy savory/sweet rolls. Try changing butter with garlic butter and add a sprinkle of (romano or parmasian) cheese. Or add organo and cheddar(grated). To go with a beef roast try rosemary and thyme. For a kid's party or party foods try adding cheddar and hot dogs. This is a really great basic recipe. Experiment with fillings. My hubby wants me to come up with a breakfast roll a diabetic can have. I'm thinking an omelette filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Fantastic!!! I made these last night for our Easter lunch today and would have never imagined that the bread would get more compliments than any of the other dishes that I worked FAR harder on! A couple of tips: 1) DO NOT ADD EXTRA FLOUR!! When you mix this dough together you will SWEAR that you've made a mistake. It will look far more like a batter than a dough, but after a long night in the fridge your "dough" will emerge as a beautiful, light, and fluffy dough that will produce some of the lightest and fluffiest rolls you will ever eat! 2) 1/2 inch is a little thick for a roll. I rolled these out to at least 1/4 inch (if not a little thinner) and when rolled up into a crescent they came out beautiful! Give these a shot! You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These didn't rise, but came out cute and tasted all right. Easy to make. They didn't taste like rolls, but more like cookie/cake thing, they were heavy and dense. I would not recommend refrigerating them overnight, yeast doesn't work in the cold temperature! so I don't understand this step, just let the dough rise, and make them the same day. Or let them rise, and then refrigerate. 3 stars for taste. Will not make the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yummy! I made a couple changes...very small ones! I have two small children and could hardly find the time to roll it out, spread butter, cut into triangles, and roll up. So I just rolled the dough in my hands into mini bun shapes and placed on pan. Then I only baked at 375 for about 6-7 mins. Baked just wonderful that way too. Nice, light and airy! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Easiest Dough to work with, made for 30 close family members along with a different type of roll for Thanksgiving Dinner. I had none of these left dispite the fact that I made a double-triple batch! However, I had dozens left from other recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F.S. ohio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
AMAZING, every one loved these on Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My new go-to for holiday dinners. Just don't forget you have to start the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made these for Thanksgiving, never got around to giving them a review. Family liked them, will make them again, but they were just not the roll I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States