Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I am a high school foods teacher. I have my students bring in a cookie sheet and each student takes a half recipe home to bake for their families. This is a huge hit with the students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
EASY!! These are my new "go everywhere" rolls. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Easy and convenient, with good flavor but the texture was rather dense. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This recipe is good, but I can't believe it doesn't say to ice them! To make it out of this world... here's what you do: frost them with a simple, thick powdered sugar/milk icing. Then if you like, roll the dough into 5 or 6 circles and cut them into more than 8 slices. This makes the crescents smaller and thus increases the icing to roll ratio. That's they way my Grandma makes them...mmmmmm! It's always been a family favorite! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I, too, made these rolls for Thanksgiving. While I loved the ease and convenience of making the dough ahead of time and not having to bother much with it, I wasn't all that excited about the texture (they seemed a bit heavy, and not as flaky as I would have expected them to be). I think I would try to make them again, though. I also have a suggestion about how to cut them which worked out really well for me: After splitting the dough into fourths, I rolled each fourth into a circle, and used a pizza cutter to cut into eight wedges. Each wedge was easily rolled into a crescent shape. Thank you, Ricki, for another interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These were fantastic! They were so tender and just melted in your mouth. Didn't even need extra butter. I would definitely make these again. I've never made rolls or bread from scratch (other than with a bread machine), but these were simple and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
These were so easy to make and got rave reviews from my husband. I have never made homemade bread or rolls at all and so I was a bit nervous about making these for Thanksgiving. I am very glad I did though and will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Reichart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Made these for Thanksgiving dinner. Good texture, decent flavor. Nothing to write home about though. They were all eaten though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These were excellent rolls! They were simple and I loved that you can overnight the dough! How easy for Christmas morning. I will be making these again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
These rolls came out really nice. I let them rise a little big longer, then when they cam out of the oven, I brushed the tops with melted butter. I've also made this recipe with butter and margarine instead of the shortening, and both ways came out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States