Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very good rolls! The only problem I had was the oven temp. It was a little high, and my rolls almost burned on the bottom while the top wasnt yet golden. Other than that, they were very easy to make, and devour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Just like my gramma used to make them. Wonderful recipe. Perfect with a powdered sugar/milk glaze and topped with walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
These were quite easy, and tasty. They are a doughy sort of roll, not a light fluffy one. They do not have a crunchy or crispy top, but are softer all the way through. Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were great. I liked making them a day ahead. It made it a lot easier. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyle
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
SO GOOD! I've made these twice now and, both times, everybody has commented on how amazing they are. The first time was for Thanksgiving. They replaced our regular roll recipe and the whole family loved them! The second time was once when I needed something around to snack on for a few days, so I made them in my dorm room. My roommates tried them and then basically ate most of them, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
There are SO MANY roll recipes and I continue to look for one that really gives me the flavor I am after. These rolls have a good taste (the cool rise lets the yeast develop more slowly = more flavor). However, the texture is odd, to me. I think it's the baking powder. There is something "biscuity" about them. The dough is also really difficult to work with because it's so soft. There are better recipes out there :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I started these last night and had to resist the temptation to add more flour than the recipe calls for. Let them sit in the fridge over night and rolled them out using a 8 in pan lid to make even circles. Next time I'll try for 10 or 12 as 8 as a bit small but made 40 rolls. I used half the butter called for and they were buttery enough for me. Let them rise about 5 or 6 hours while I was at the movies and baked for 9 minutes when I got home. They turned out great with a little too much flour on the outside, next time I'll try rolling w/out flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
THese were good. We put some apple butter on them and had it with omlettes for brunch. Thanks for a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
These were very good, but they reminded me of the Sweet Rolls recipe from this site. I actually like the sweet roll recipe better, but I'll make these again though. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe is "ok." The dough never rised for me (my yeast was fine, nothing wrong with it). The flavor was very yeasty-tasting, and the texture was more denser than I prefer. I very much appreciate you sharing the recipe, but it didn't do much for me. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETYBLKGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States