Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My very first time making bread EVER! I made 48 rolls by 1.5X the recipe. I followed the directions exactly and the result was quite good - kindof like a Pillsbury Dough bun but fresher and more filling. The group I made them for loved them. They smelled bad before they were cooked but maybe that's just a bread thing? They also didn't seem to rise much in the 4 hours but they turned out great so don't fear if yours don't seem to rise during that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I messed up on time and didn't allow for enough rise time. Even so, the rolls were light, fluffy and flavorful! I was a bit concerned the night before when I put the dough in the fridge, it was very sticky and not at all like dough. Although after just a little kneading they rolled out great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Way too much shortening! I followed the recipe exactly and these were a flop - I had to add a lot more flour to get the dough to even form in order to make cresents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have been looking for a really good yeast roll recipe. Now I found it! These are delicious and so easy to make. I didn't change a thing and they turned out great! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I am not good at making rolls, but we had rave reviews for these, and even had someone ask if they could pay me to make these for a dinner she was having. Excellent recipe, and i love that it was so easy. Ricki, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I would not recommend these to anyone, and I have made homemade rolls before. 1 cup shorting!!!???? Maybe a killed the yeast when I mixed everything together.. Still I should have more sense when I added that 1 cup shorting in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I tried to make these and they were a flop! I will not pass judgement to the submitter, could have been my error. They would not rise, and yes the yeast was fresh, brnad new. Could be that they are great but not for me~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
these turned out pretty good. mine ened up being refrigerated for 48 hours instead of 24 due to illness, and i used whole wheat flour as well. but i will be making these again as they are still quite tasty and keep really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Hi all, This is an excellent formula. I use Celtic sea salt it gives it a cleaner taste, and I boule the dough instead of rolling horns. Then fill the boules with sea salted butter from a pastry bag. I also have found hot proofing the rolls makes them much lighter. These are truly, literally killer. I call them a " Heart attack on a bun!" ;) Lolz, But they sure taste great and my customers sure love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States