Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
These are the best and easiest rolls ever. I've been making them for several years now. I like to use 2 1/2 cups of wheat flour and 2 cups of white. I've also used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup crisco...to cut down on the trans fat. It can't be any easier than stirring it all in a bowl and sticking it in the fridge. The dough can be left in the fridge for up to a week so you can have fresh warm rolls for dinner every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
made these with butter instead of shortening, didn't roll them out, just formed balls. turned out good, kind of had the texture of a tea-biscuit, but people really liked them, and the no-kneading is a total bonus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
When I want to make this rolls I was thinking why not I made this into a pizza base and I did! Half of the dough I make into rolls and the other half I make into 2 8" pizza base with topping consist of cheese, baked bean, sliced meat loaf and mayonise and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This is good. It has the taste and texture of store-bought crescent rolls. My family likes it sprinkled with cinnamon sugar on top of the butter just before rolling. The only thing I didn't like is that it takes 3-4 hours to rise so keep that in mind when you make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These are great! I mixed them in my breadmaker and immedietly threw the dough into a bowl and put it into the fridge. Rolled them out the next day for Christmas and baked them off later on. WOW! These do taste like the ones you can get at the store. Even though they do take some time, your able to just make the dough, do what you need to do, roll them out, and again do what ever else you need to do. I did however add an eggwash of beaten egg and cream to the top. I also reduced the temp to 350, this way the risk of burning is not a big issue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
OMG!!! this is the first time that a 5 star recipe turned out to be just that~! I made them for my Thanksgiving dinner and they are perfect!!! I will share this recipe with family and friends and it will go down in my families cook book! hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawaiibarby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very good! Tender, flaky and buttery. Need to watch carefully as bottoms will burn quickly, but with a little practice, these will be my standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
EXCELLENT!!! My family loved these and they were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
These are easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This was a great recipe for someone with no experience with yeast. Mine came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States