Butterhorn Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Not bad, but mine didn't quite rise enough and came out a bit flat. I did follow the recipe exactly, but I'm wondering if my fridge was too cold or something. I'm encouraged by how easy they were, though. So either I'll give this one more shot or I'll look for another substitute for the refrigerated crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These took a bit more time effort than I usually spend on roll, but they were worth it - buttery and light with a great flavor. They got raves at Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe exactly, other than using Butter Flavor Crisco instead of plain shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
When I want to make this rolls I was thinking why not I made this into a pizza base and I did! Half of the dough I make into rolls and the other half I make into 2 8" pizza base with topping consist of cheese, baked bean, sliced meat loaf and mayonise and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These are great! I mixed them in my breadmaker and immedietly threw the dough into a bowl and put it into the fridge. Rolled them out the next day for Christmas and baked them off later on. WOW! These do taste like the ones you can get at the store. Even though they do take some time, your able to just make the dough, do what you need to do, roll them out, and again do what ever else you need to do. I did however add an eggwash of beaten egg and cream to the top. I also reduced the temp to 350, this way the risk of burning is not a big issue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving, and they were very good. But not sure if they were worth the trouble to make when I had lots of other Thanksgiving cooking/baking to do. Probably should have made Pillsbury Crescent Rolls instead. I will make these again, just not with a large holiday meal, unless someone is helping me. (My daughter did help roll them up and put them on the pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very good! Tender, flaky and buttery. Need to watch carefully as bottoms will burn quickly, but with a little practice, these will be my standards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
These are the best and easiest rolls ever. I've been making them for several years now. I like to use 2 1/2 cups of wheat flour and 2 cups of white. I've also used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup crisco...to cut down on the trans fat. It can't be any easier than stirring it all in a bowl and sticking it in the fridge. The dough can be left in the fridge for up to a week so you can have fresh warm rolls for dinner every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made these for Thanksgiving and now make them all the time, they are so easy and good. Made them for hubby to eat with dips at Christmas as he cannot have salty chips. He said he didn't miss the chips at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was my second attempt at making home made rolls. Wish I had found this recipe first. They came out just perfect. I will be making these again in the up and coming weeks, will use honey flavored butter to get a sweet taste. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I made these for thanksgiving and my family could not stop eating them. Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States