Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Finally a biscuit recipe that is worth making! I made this twice and need to review both. Friday night I made them just like the recipe said and found them, although very tasty, to be somewhat dry and crumbly for my liking. I baked them in a cast iron skillet that had been oiled with bacon grease as that is what my grandmother used to do. I baked them again this morning only THIS TIME I made the adjustment that others had suggested and I used One cup of buttermilk, this will make the dough very moist / mushy. I plopped the dough on a flowered counter top and flattened out to about an inch thick & then cut out the biscuits. Baked them the same as I did the first time and a few minutes before they were done brushed bacon grease on the tops to give them a golden color (you could use melted butter / margarine) This made all the difference in the world! Hubby was thrilled as was I and we were little piggy’s this morning at the breakfast table! I cannot see myself baking biscuits with Bisquick ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I used to avoid making biscuits, but these were very good and easy. Hubby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
THE BEST BISCUITS I'VE EVER MADE!They're so good...i use regular milk instead of butter milk and it works just fine. I'll be using this recipe a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I made the recipe exactly as directed and the only thing I would change would to add salt like another reviewer said. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Easy and fast. I made mine into small patties and the only problem I had from the original recipe was having to cook them about 5 - 10 minutes longer than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I am giving this recipe 3 stars b/c I liked the flavor, but they were very dry. They fell apart when picked up, and I followed the recipe exactly. I'll keep looking for a flaky, buttery biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Hmmm. A good concept (I HATE rolling and cutting biscuits!), but not for me/us. Made half a batch of these last night to go with the beef shepherds pie VI by Jacquie (on this site). My bf didn't care for them at all (but he is picky about biscuits - only likes them soft and moist, not dry and crumbly). I also didn't care for them. The texture was a tad too dry for me. I admit that these biscuits are very similar to the KFC ones (which I do like - go figure!). To assemble, I rolled the dough into 6 small balls, placed in a greased (round) baking dish and baked for 10 minutes as directed. I'd suggest shaping each biscuit into a patty or dropping by tablespoonfulls per the poster's instructions (I was hoping that the balls would flatten as they baked, but they didn't). I'd also suggest brushing each biscuit with melted butter as these did not seem to taste "buttery" at all to me. Oh well. Thanks for sharing anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Quick, easy, tasty biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Awesome biscuits. Taste like a true southern biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These biscuits use my favorite kind of milk--buttermilk! You can really tell a difference between these and the others that don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States