Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These biscuits use my favorite kind of milk--buttermilk! You can really tell a difference between these and the others that don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I have to say these biscuits are just like my grandmother used to make. I used the suggestion of adding 1 tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp salt, also used whole cup of buttermilk instead of 2/3 c. My granny made the best biscuits and unfortunately never got a chance to teach me how to make them. I have looked and looked for years for recipes similar to hers and this one is it! They tasted exactly like she used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chavies, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erica Awotwi Clay
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Hands down the best biscuits I have ever had!!! My husband said they were better than his mothers...and he always brags about those! Thanks for all the suggestions. I have made this with skim milk and buttermilk. The skim gives it a lighter texture and taste...the buttermilk makes it taste just right. I use the measurements in the reviews for using all purpose flour and add a pinch more salt and sugar! Brush with BUTTER before baking and again after! (No one is on a diet here!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Awotwi Clay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
These are great... I make them all the time. My suggestions to those interested... moisten your hands with oil and then form the dough into decent sized biscuits (I never flour my hands anymore). I would also suggest... do not overwork the dough or the consistency of the biscuit changes. Great recipe... yummy biscuits!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
These were heavenly...I will never buy store bought biscuits again! (I did have to add about 1 cup buttermilk to get the dough to the proper consistency.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
So simple and good:)! I didn't have self-rising flour so I made my own. 1 cup all purpose flour + 1.5 tsp baking powder + 1 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
good recipe,easy to add other spices or even meat to{bacon biscuits or garlic biscuits-yummy}thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very good & very easy. Subbed whole milk with lemon for the buttermilk. I usually only use real butter but with all of my Thanksgiving baking I am out so I used margarine. Added a little sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Wonderful! Buttery, soft and so easy. My kids loved them. I used a timer to be sure they wouldn't over bake and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylBoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is extremely flat, and I followed it thoroughly. Perhaps this biscuit dough would be good rolled out thin for a pot pie crust but it does not make a good flaky biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States