Buttered Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very yummy, and a great biscuit for adding things like berries or cheese to the dough. My 2 1/2 year old boy had fun helping make and eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this recipe fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Just what I was looking for, something easy and a recipe that didn't call for lard or shortening. I too didn't have self rising flour and just added a T of baking powder and some salt. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
very easy to make and my boyfriend loved them! didnt have self rising flour so took other advise and used salt and baking soda and turned out wonderful! would recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These biscuits are absolutely fabulous! Thanks for posting them. I think they should also be entered as a "dumpling" recipe, as they taste EXACTLY like Cracker Barrel dumplings when cooked in Chicken Broth....BRAVO, another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These are as good as cracker barrel...which holds the prize in my book. I added 1 TBS and 1/2 tsp to all purpose flour in place of the the self-rising flour. This recipe makes 16-18 biscuits if you roll them by hand into balls about the size of a heaping tablespoon. Though next time I'd make them larger and make only a dozen from the dough because they didn't expand much when cooking so they were fairly small biscuits. Mine needed 10-12 minutes at 450 before they were cooked through and very lightly browned on top. But don't wait until their golden...they are better before they start getting color on top. Also, move them right from the baking sheet into a covered bread basket or wrapped up in a kitchen towl to keep them warm and moist until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These are great especially if you like a buttery tender biscuit. I thought they might be hard since the dough was more dry than I expected. I doubled the recipe and had enough for a crowd. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Simple and easy recipe. I mixed the dough, kneaded it on the counter and cut into biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were really good and super easy. I didn't have self rising flour so I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1tbsp baking powder and a bit of salt. I think 1tbsp of powder is a bit took much, they tasted more like baking powder biscuits than buttermilk biscuits (not necessarily a bad thing, just not what I was going for.) I may also add an extra splash of milk next time, as my dough was pretty crumbly and I really had to press it together to get it to form into biscuits that would stay together. Overall, definitely a keeper. Much better than the biscuits out of a can you can buy at the grocery store, and just as easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Great simple recipe! First time I made this my hubby and I felt it needed some more salt. So, this time around I added about a 1/2 a teaspoon of salt and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States