Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
It's truly a buttercream frosting. I made the recipe exactly as it appears and just made sure to use my Kitchenaid mixer and mix it for a long time. It whipped to the right consistency. I "liked" it but I was not thrilled with it. I guess in my mind I was thinking that if I made buttercream frosting from scratch it would have a little more of a Homemade taste. But it's just exactly the same as a bakery cake frosting and that's why I rated it a 4. I agree with a previous poster that if you are going to rate a recipe, you have to rate it as is. If you make all these changes, then it is YOUR recipe and not the person's who originlly shared it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe is great. If you use all butter it's definitely richer, but it's still really good. I did it the half and half way and everyone at work really liked it because they said it wasn't too heavy. If you're just making a flat 9x13 cake, half the recipe, otherwise you'll end up with a whole lot leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this to frost my son's birthday cake and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Following the recommendations of others I used all butter (1 stick salted, 1 stick unsalted) and followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it turned out really good but a little too sweet. I will definitely make this recipe again but I will start with 3 cups of sugar and add more to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I used to make either an all-butter buttercream or an all-shortening fluffy white frosting, depending on what I was using it for. Now, it all will be this recipe, with half of each. DELICIOUS! I follow the recipe as written, and use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Great recipe but mine came out too sweet :( how do I fix this? thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great tasting and consistency for decorating! I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is delicious. I used this recipe on the A-1-Banana Cake. I made the recipe using all butter, but next time will make recipe as is. When I made it with all butter, I liked the flavor, but the icing texture was not what I wanted -- it needs just a little shortening, so I am going to make recipe as it is given next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great started buttercream recipe, minus the shortening. Butter alone works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States