Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Photo by Bernadette Marlene
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Great!!! As per other reviews I used all butter, 3 cups of sugar and 1T of milk. Frosting too dye great and piped hair on my elmo cupckaes perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I used all butter and no shortening like the other reviewers suggested. I also forgot to add the milk. I thought it was good but my boyfriend said it was too sweet and he only ate one of the cupcakes I made for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
really delicious. followed the recipe and used half shortening, half butter. Flavorful, like vanilla. I'd use more butter less shortening to see if it's a little bit less greasy. Regardless, still good even if you follow the exact recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great on sugar cookies! Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The best way to stop eating too much desert is to start making them! I didn't know that icing was basically sugar and butter! I guess that explains why it's so delicious... I made it with 3 cups sugar, 1/2 c butter, and a little extra milk. I couldn't possibly use shortening. It was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaquino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Perfect! I've seen other posts that say this is a Wilton recipe. I'm assuming it's an old recipe, because I'm in the Wilton beginner's class and there is NO butter in the recipe they have us make and it tastes awful. They should go back to this recipe!! I tried this one this weekend for cupcakes and it was perfect! Yummy flavor, great texture. Of course, it makes a stiff icing, I had to add more milk/water for the kind of decorating I wanted to do with it. I will use this recipe as a base for all my icings going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
good. but a little too light and fluffy. but would be good as a topping to a cake. try again. made with half an half, but maybe try just butter next time as other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this & put on cupcakes. Yum would be my taste description, it was easy to use as well as prepare. Ive made several times already & I'm going to make again. A keeper recipe-definatly! :-) thankx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I loved it! After reading almost every single review, I decided to stick with the original recipe of 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter, but I used heavy whipping cream instead of milk and added a pinch of salt, also only used 3 cups of sugar because I didn't want it to be too sweet and it turned out perfect!. I also used 1/4 tsp artificial butter flavor and 1 and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, the clear kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia53bb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
very good! i added double the milk but kept the amount of sugar the same. probably the best icing i ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States