Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe as stated and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wonderful just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really easy to make and tasted fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ??NAME??

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wonderful vanilla buttercream flavor! Made this on a marble cake, and my in-laws loved it! I used all butter, as a previous review had suggested, and I was not disappointed. Only qualm: this didn't make a whole lot of frosting. I had to add four more tablespoons of butter and about 2/3 C of confectioner's sugar to get just enough, and even with the addition, it barely covered the whole cake with its three layers. Next time, I will add a third more to this recipe, or even another half, to get all the icing I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I used all butter and added 1 small jar of strawberry jam (no seeds) and an additional cup of sugar. It made A LOT of frosting, but we have a lot of cupcakes to frost. I haven't tried flavoring it with other flavors, but imagine that other jams/preserves would be good. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because I don't think the shortening is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Easy and delicious. I used butter shortening and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Easy and yummy! I simply used butter instead of the shortening and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I am on a search for the ultimate buttercream frosting, this isn't it. I found it to taste too buttery, almost like eating a stick of butter. My family and friends liked it, but its back to the drawing board for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muzzy216

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I LOVED it !!!! it was amazing and my whole family enjoyed it as well. its simple, and easy and delicious. reccomend it to any one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILEX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I normally make the wilton buttercream recipe, but was out of shortening, and decided to try this as many reviewers were making it with only butter. It is warm out today, and the icing started to seperate 10 minutes after taking it out of the fridge. After 30 minutes on the counter it looks awful on my cake. I made it with the entire 4 cups of sugar, and it tastes wayyyyy to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States