Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is too sweet. I also feel like the shortening adds a wax like texture to the icing. If you're making cupcakes for kids I'm sure they won't mind the sugar but, for adults I would find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for to frost my one year olds cupcake pullapart cake. Did sub heavy whipping cream for the milk personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashaboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Really yummy! but to make it dense enough i use WAY more than 4 cups of sugar. I;m not sure how else to do it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa_funes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
As suggested in the top review, I used only butter and loved the result! Prior to using this recipe I used another that called for shortening (even used butter flavored) and I didn't dig the shortening taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is a great buttercream icing. I just added an additional 1 tsp vanilla to give more flavor. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It's greasy, overly sweet, and has an unappealing taste. The only plus is that it does have a nice, creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was really simple to make. I followed the recipe exactly but added some lilac frosting colour. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe!!! Used on cinnamon rolls and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I wish you could give half stars cause this would have been about a 3.5. For me, I could really taste the shortening. I added more butter to make it a more butter to shortening ratio and it was better, but I could still taste it. This wasn't bad, it tasted pretty good, I just didn't like the shortening taste. The consistancy was nice and thick and would be good for decorating I believe. Good recipe, just too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is fantastic! The first time I made it according to the recipe and it was great! But today I needed to make a raspberry buttercream, so I followed the advice of others and used all butter and I cut the sugar back (as the preserves are sweet as well) and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 959) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States