Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The icing is yummy but too sweet. I had to use three cups of sugar instead of four. I also used 2 1/2 table spoons of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I did not follow the recipe rather I took the advice of several people on here and just used all butter. I used 1 and a half stick butter, 2 cups of confectioner's sugar and vanilla extract. I didn't measure the vanilla I just used my judgment. I put red and blue food colouring to make a dusty rose. I did not need the milk at all. It turned out wonderful! I think 4 cups will be appropriate if you were making a huge amount of frosting otherwise I think 4 cups of sugar is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great idea half butter/ half shortening! All butter would taste great, but would melt quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shynina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Yep. just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonsay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love this recipe modified, but as is, it is TOO SWEET! The first time I made it, I followed others suggestions and used more butter than shortening (3/4c to 1/4c) and half the sugar, and it was amazing! This time, I used the even amount shortening and butter and 3c of sugar, and it was too sweet for me. But, this is coming from someone that doesn't like 80% of the frosting/icings out there. So, take it for what it is worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Thank god I found this recipe! I had a crisis with another buttercream icing (it was melting when out of the fridge for too long!) and needed a quick substitute. I, too, used all butter in this and added a splash more of vanilla, and it turned out great. I also omitted one cup of powdered sugar, it was borderline too sweet with just 3, which is why I only gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkahiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
A nice, basic buttercream frosting, spreads nicely. I needed to make mine milk-free, so I used 1 c. margarine instead of the shortening and butter, and it worked well. Beware - some vanilla extracts will give the frosting a light brown tint. If you're coloring the frosting anyway it doesn't matter, but if you want it to be pure white, you're better off using vanilla sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I really wanted this recipe to work, but it didn't. Maybe the butter wasn't soft enough, but this recipe was grainy and it didn't work at all for me. Taste wise, it was great. Probably a user error on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this frosting today for my daughter's birthday cake. It tastes very good after adding a few extra Tbsp of milk. It was too thick and would not spread easily. I did add another tsp of vanilla also. I do like the mixing of butter and shortening as it adds the perfect mix of flavor and texture to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
this is a great recipe for decorating. It is actually the exact recipe found on Wiltons website. As far as different people using less sugar and more milk, this really depends on WHAT YOU ARE USING IT FOR. if you are simply frosing a cake or cupcakes it is great to thin it out for a softer creamier frosting. However if you are decorating flowers or other things on a cake or cookies with decorater tips it is necessary to use it thicker to hold the shapes. Hope this helps. To make a fabulous chocolate buttercream just add 3/4 C cocoa and an extra TBS or two of milk depending on how thick you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States