Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was really thick; almost too thick to pipe. And the taste was pretty bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
i love this recipe, I have used it repeatedly. I often add a little more milk than it calls for if I am piping it onto cake or cupcakes as it does "dry" out- meaning that it is hard to pipe BUT it is still creamy and oh so tasty. I sometimes add cocoa to make it a chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was surprised at how disappointing this frosting turned out. I doubled the recipe and used approximately 5 1/2 cups of sugar and 2 cups of unsalted butter. It was too buttery and sweet. I added 1T lemon juice which helped a little. It was very easy to spread (I used white cake recipe from this site) though and tasted okay. But there are other recipes which are better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made this EXACTLY how it says and it was WONDERFUL!! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I made a double batch for a large scale baking project. I have used all butter recipes for buttercream before and it's just too sweet. That is why I picked this one to try. I didn't wind up adding as much milk for a double batch. I also did half vanilla and half almond extract because I didn't want the taste of vanilla to be too strong either. I used this for both spreading and piping and it was fine. I also find that if you sift the confectioner's sugar before you mix it, it gives a smoother consistency. I used this recipe to frost some cupcakes and a small 9" cake for my son's 4th birthday. He liked them just fine! It goes well with the heavenly white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe is in my head! I make it ALL the time! It says to beat the powered sugar in one cup at a time, you REALLY need to do that or you won't get the right consistency. I know because I just dumped it all in one time ( yes, I got surrounded by a cloud powered sugar) and it didn't turn out right. Also, make sure to use a good quality shortening. Don't use anything to oily, like crisco. It make the frosting to melty and you have to add more powdered sugar, which makes it WAY too sweet. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dalaiah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Great recipe, though I prefer all butter instead of half shortening. Also, I use evaporated milk (though regular is fine too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
as suggested by others, i reduced sugar to 2 1/2 cups. i used the icing for piping. it was yummy but maybe i should beat the icing some more so it will turn out smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very sweet, be sure not to put too much on your cake or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I really like it, but I used less confectioners sugar. I have a problem with my sugar. Using less made it very easy for spreading. I also made it another time and put some cocoa powder in it for a chocolate flavor and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States