Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe is in my head! I make it ALL the time! It says to beat the powered sugar in one cup at a time, you REALLY need to do that or you won't get the right consistency. I know because I just dumped it all in one time ( yes, I got surrounded by a cloud powered sugar) and it didn't turn out right. Also, make sure to use a good quality shortening. Don't use anything to oily, like crisco. It make the frosting to melty and you have to add more powdered sugar, which makes it WAY too sweet. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dalaiah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Great recipe, though I prefer all butter instead of half shortening. Also, I use evaporated milk (though regular is fine too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy1457

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
as suggested by others, i reduced sugar to 2 1/2 cups. i used the icing for piping. it was yummy but maybe i should beat the icing some more so it will turn out smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very sweet, be sure not to put too much on your cake or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I really like it, but I used less confectioners sugar. I have a problem with my sugar. Using less made it very easy for spreading. I also made it another time and put some cocoa powder in it for a chocolate flavor and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is my go-to frosting recipe. I have done it both ways, with shortening and all butter, and for my purposes - just a thick layer on a cake, nothing fancy - I like it better with all butter. Definitely beat it on high for a couple of minutes to make it fluffy, too. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelcooking1
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Pretty good, I added extra vanilla and only used butter. Not big on shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I tried this recipe and, although it was delicious, I didn't much care for the mildly gritty texture. I look for butter creams that are smooth and fluffy like whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I think this is pretty good icing. After I prepared this icing i divided it in half and made some chocolate icing and some peanut butter. Although i made this adaption there was quite a lot of taste testing with the product before my small adaption.Me and my fiance had a hard time keeping our fingers out of the mixing bowl.It was not to sweet for us. Even if one less cup of sugar was used it would still be delicious( tasted it after adding 3 cups of sugar). Next time i make a cake I am pretty sure I am going to use this icing. It is going to be great on a strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States