Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I think this is pretty good icing. After I prepared this icing i divided it in half and made some chocolate icing and some peanut butter. Although i made this adaption there was quite a lot of taste testing with the product before my small adaption.Me and my fiance had a hard time keeping our fingers out of the mixing bowl.It was not to sweet for us. Even if one less cup of sugar was used it would still be delicious( tasted it after adding 3 cups of sugar). Next time i make a cake I am pretty sure I am going to use this icing. It is going to be great on a strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Overall easy to make and good recipe but way too sweet. I only put in 3 cups of confectionary sugar and it was still too sweet for my taste. Next time I will only use 2 - I also used all butter as others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I decided to make this recipe exactly as stated--to be fair. I was less than impressed. It was too sugary--as others had stated. It made a beautiful cake, and it was easily spreadable. However, taste is where it lacked. My boys (who love sweets) were even less than impressed. If I decided to make this again (not likely), I would use less sugar--way less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Not smooth, not creamy. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, but it was shaggy and did not look good when spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Too BLAH!!! Should have used all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very easy and tweaked the flavours for a strawberry buttercream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
It's truly a buttercream frosting. I made the recipe exactly as it appears and just made sure to use my Kitchenaid mixer and mix it for a long time. It whipped to the right consistency. I "liked" it but I was not thrilled with it. I guess in my mind I was thinking that if I made buttercream frosting from scratch it would have a little more of a Homemade taste. But it's just exactly the same as a bakery cake frosting and that's why I rated it a 4. I agree with a previous poster that if you are going to rate a recipe, you have to rate it as is. If you make all these changes, then it is YOUR recipe and not the person's who originlly shared it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe is great. If you use all butter it's definitely richer, but it's still really good. I did it the half and half way and everyone at work really liked it because they said it wasn't too heavy. If you're just making a flat 9x13 cake, half the recipe, otherwise you'll end up with a whole lot leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States