Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have made this many times! Sometimes I only use butter-- it doesn't matter that much, just whatever is easier. I just dump all the ingredients in a blender. Super easy. One note that I always have is to add more milk. It's very sweet and I don't like overly-sweet icing, so I end up doubling (at least) the amount of milk. Also, you can omit the vanilla if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Rubright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the same icing we use to decorate cakes in the bakery at work, I am glad to finally find the recipe since our boss makes it and won't give it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLAP2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Awesome recipe. Works best with all butter. I used it for a rainbow cake for a party and everyone loved it. Worth trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this recipe today with high hopes. All I taste is the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I usually make this frosting only with butter. I could taste the shortening; it creamed together nicely but the taste is not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is Wilton's official buttercream recipe. It's okay. I've made it a lot but was looking for something that kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this exactly as recipe called for and it was fine. I will use all butter next time, I think the flavor will be better. If I didn't have the butter I would make this again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
A-MA-ZING. I followed this recipe exactly the way it said and I LOVED the outcome. I used salted butter and I don't taste the shortening at all. Seriously, I could sit with a spoon and a bowl of this frosting and just go to town. It's that good. And to think I bought mass produced tub icing for so many years; this is SO much better and SOOO quick and easy!! This will be my go-to recipe when I need frosting for anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and when I tasted it I thought there was was way too much vanilla I was expecting a more light taste, but overall it turned out okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States