Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This frosting is so good. It's nice and soft and fluffy. It was exactly what I was looking for to top my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Just what I have been looking for in a buttercream frosting. I didnt have any shortening, so I used all butter and it turned out fantastic considering the fact that I halved the recipe (because I wasnt too sure how it would turn out and I didnt want it to go to waste) I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it turned out. I managed to frost 40 mini cupcakes.just be sure to beat the frosting at high speed until it becomes really fluffy. A keeper, most definitely! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe as is and using all butter, as recommended by other users. I like it both ways; however, I prefer it with 3 cups of powdered sugar per batch rather than 4, otherwise it tends to get too sweet. If you are icing a cake, you will need to at LEAST double the recipe! My choice was 4 or 5 stars, and 5 stars is much more accurate than 4...I would probably rate this at 4.5+ stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I tried the recipe and followed the ingredients an steps as asked!!! WOW! It was amazing I tastes and looks like the Pillsbury Whipped Icing.... I actually whipped it instead of just blending it and it taste much light and it is super Good... I've read that for some of you'll it seemed runny and not smooth as long as you follow the steps trust me there is no way you cant get it right; and its good for cupcakes, cakes, etc. So Yeah I give this recipe a Five Star Rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Tastes just like the local cupcakery's buttercream. I used all butter, and it tasted great. My only problem is it is not thick enough. It may be my fault for nearly melting the butter, I'll have to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I added some lemon juice to this and made a lemon icing. It was great! And the icing tasted good 72 hours later. Perfect for cupcakes or cakes that are made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Just threw a half batch of this frosting away. I can taste the shortening. Will stick to my other recipe that uses butter alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Very good. Followed recipe exactly. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Now I'm making my own icing instead of store bought brands. I used butter instead of shortening. I don't like tasting shortening. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgcossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States