Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is Wilton's official buttercream recipe. It's okay. I've made it a lot but was looking for something that kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this exactly as recipe called for and it was fine. I will use all butter next time, I think the flavor will be better. If I didn't have the butter I would make this again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
A-MA-ZING. I followed this recipe exactly the way it said and I LOVED the outcome. I used salted butter and I don't taste the shortening at all. Seriously, I could sit with a spoon and a bowl of this frosting and just go to town. It's that good. And to think I bought mass produced tub icing for so many years; this is SO much better and SOOO quick and easy!! This will be my go-to recipe when I need frosting for anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and when I tasted it I thought there was was way too much vanilla I was expecting a more light taste, but overall it turned out okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Like others, I did all butter and only half the sugar because I wasn't decorating, just spreading. This makes a delightful, light frosting- even my husband, who doesn't care for cakes or frosting, enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
this recipe "IS" the wilton recipe that is found in the first coarse of decorating by wilton. it is a great recipe for piping, and the taste is great if you dont go nuts with eating to much. the only thing to remember is that if you are going to do piping dont over beat it. it will cause the icing to become to soft to do things like roses.also use hard shortening vs tube for best results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Use this recipe all the time, but it tastes much better when you use all butter, and heavy cream instead of milk. I find I need to add more cream than the recipe calls for, but I add it a little at a time just to get it to the consistency I like to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made recipe as stated. Very easy to frost a cake, and was good tasting as well. Would need 1/2 again as much to frost a double layer cake with filling. Didn't try decorations, so I have no idea if it works for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Quick & easy recipe. I used butter instead. Tasted great! Defiantly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States