Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I only give it a 4 star because I didn't follow the original recipe exactly. As per reviews I used all butter, 2cups icing sugar and 3tbsp milk. Super easy, and delicious! Can't imagine using 4 cups of sugar but maybe when using the shortening you'd need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great recipe! Flavor benefited from a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I had a rather large cake so I made two batches of frosting. One with all butter to use as a crumb coat and filling, and one to use as the main frosting and piping. The all butter was lovely and wonderful and I will make it like that again. And honestly, the batch with shortening was kind of gross, didn't spread nearly as well, and I'm truly disappointed. It piped okay, but what difference is a pretty cake if it doesn't TASTE good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Easy to make and very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was wonderful! My previous attempts at homemade icing had not gone well, but this recipe came together perfectly with no tweaking. I've used it on cupcakes and to make sandwiches out of homemade graham crackers. It takes my baked goods to the next level when they have homemade icing. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was hesitate about making my own icing, but this was super easy and a huge hit. I was able to easily ice my cake and make my first decorative flowers for the top (thanks Youtube). Will be saving this recipe for future cakes and cupcakes. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and loved it! I wanted to frost 24 cupcakes. I wasn't sure if one batch would be enough so I doubled it and had waaaay to much. One batch would have been plenty. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I prefer to use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. It seems to add a richness to a very discriminate palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I really want to make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 947) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States