Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
It was great I only used the 1/2 cup butter and 2 cups icing sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla, and used bout 3 table spoons milk and it was awesome my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I decorate cakes and I LOVE this recipe because it is half shortening and half butter. You get the benefits of both. I also use almond extract to give it more flavor (any extract would work). Just substitute 1/4 of the vanilla for flavored extract. It makes a very thick frosting, so unless you are making flowers, continue to thin until a knife just starts falling over when poked into the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I have 3 children with birthdays within 10 days of each other and the cakes are always a big deal. I made three custom cakes and 12 mini cakes in 10 days and used this icing on all of them. With minor differences in between. It is so simple and tastes great. It is very easy to change up also. I used strawberry ice cream syrup instead of vanilla on one and it turned out pink and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernadette Marlene Drobny
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Great!!! As per other reviews I used all butter, 3 cups of sugar and 1T of milk. Frosting too dye great and piped hair on my elmo cupckaes perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I used all butter and no shortening like the other reviewers suggested. I also forgot to add the milk. I thought it was good but my boyfriend said it was too sweet and he only ate one of the cupcakes I made for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
really delicious. followed the recipe and used half shortening, half butter. Flavorful, like vanilla. I'd use more butter less shortening to see if it's a little bit less greasy. Regardless, still good even if you follow the exact recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great on sugar cookies! Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The best way to stop eating too much desert is to start making them! I didn't know that icing was basically sugar and butter! I guess that explains why it's so delicious... I made it with 3 cups sugar, 1/2 c butter, and a little extra milk. I couldn't possibly use shortening. It was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaquino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Perfect! I've seen other posts that say this is a Wilton recipe. I'm assuming it's an old recipe, because I'm in the Wilton beginner's class and there is NO butter in the recipe they have us make and it tastes awful. They should go back to this recipe!! I tried this one this weekend for cupcakes and it was perfect! Yummy flavor, great texture. Of course, it makes a stiff icing, I had to add more milk/water for the kind of decorating I wanted to do with it. I will use this recipe as a base for all my icings going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
good. but a little too light and fluffy. but would be good as a topping to a cake. try again. made with half an half, but maybe try just butter next time as other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States