Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great recipe! Much better than the traditional all shortening no butter that I have used many times before. And, the bonus was how much easier the clean up is using the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget McDonie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Great recipe, makes delicious icing. Used this on some cinnamon bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srednakun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe as stated and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wonderful just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really easy to make and tasted fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ??NAME??

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wonderful vanilla buttercream flavor! Made this on a marble cake, and my in-laws loved it! I used all butter, as a previous review had suggested, and I was not disappointed. Only qualm: this didn't make a whole lot of frosting. I had to add four more tablespoons of butter and about 2/3 C of confectioner's sugar to get just enough, and even with the addition, it barely covered the whole cake with its three layers. Next time, I will add a third more to this recipe, or even another half, to get all the icing I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I used all butter and added 1 small jar of strawberry jam (no seeds) and an additional cup of sugar. It made A LOT of frosting, but we have a lot of cupcakes to frost. I haven't tried flavoring it with other flavors, but imagine that other jams/preserves would be good. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because I don't think the shortening is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Savenelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Easy and delicious. I used butter shortening and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Easy and yummy! I simply used butter instead of the shortening and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I am on a search for the ultimate buttercream frosting, this isn't it. I found it to taste too buttery, almost like eating a stick of butter. My family and friends liked it, but its back to the drawing board for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muzzy216

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 191-200 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States