Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
A nice, basic buttercream frosting, spreads nicely. I needed to make mine milk-free, so I used 1 c. margarine instead of the shortening and butter, and it worked well. Beware - some vanilla extracts will give the frosting a light brown tint. If you're coloring the frosting anyway it doesn't matter, but if you want it to be pure white, you're better off using vanilla sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I really wanted this recipe to work, but it didn't. Maybe the butter wasn't soft enough, but this recipe was grainy and it didn't work at all for me. Taste wise, it was great. Probably a user error on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this frosting today for my daughter's birthday cake. It tastes very good after adding a few extra Tbsp of milk. It was too thick and would not spread easily. I did add another tsp of vanilla also. I do like the mixing of butter and shortening as it adds the perfect mix of flavor and texture to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
this is a great recipe for decorating. It is actually the exact recipe found on Wiltons website. As far as different people using less sugar and more milk, this really depends on WHAT YOU ARE USING IT FOR. if you are simply frosing a cake or cupcakes it is great to thin it out for a softer creamier frosting. However if you are decorating flowers or other things on a cake or cookies with decorater tips it is necessary to use it thicker to hold the shapes. Hope this helps. To make a fabulous chocolate buttercream just add 3/4 C cocoa and an extra TBS or two of milk depending on how thick you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great recipe! Much better than the traditional all shortening no butter that I have used many times before. And, the bonus was how much easier the clean up is using the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget McDonie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Great recipe, makes delicious icing. Used this on some cinnamon bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srednakun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe as stated and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wonderful just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really easy to make and tasted fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ??NAME??

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Wonderful vanilla buttercream flavor! Made this on a marble cake, and my in-laws loved it! I used all butter, as a previous review had suggested, and I was not disappointed. Only qualm: this didn't make a whole lot of frosting. I had to add four more tablespoons of butter and about 2/3 C of confectioner's sugar to get just enough, and even with the addition, it barely covered the whole cake with its three layers. Next time, I will add a third more to this recipe, or even another half, to get all the icing I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States