Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe!!! Used on cinnamon rolls and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I wish you could give half stars cause this would have been about a 3.5. For me, I could really taste the shortening. I added more butter to make it a more butter to shortening ratio and it was better, but I could still taste it. This wasn't bad, it tasted pretty good, I just didn't like the shortening taste. The consistancy was nice and thick and would be good for decorating I believe. Good recipe, just too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is fantastic! The first time I made it according to the recipe and it was great! But today I needed to make a raspberry buttercream, so I followed the advice of others and used all butter and I cut the sugar back (as the preserves are sweet as well) and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
good easy recipe. I used all butter salted butter and it came out nice. I used it on cupcakes and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe! I usually opt for all butter buttercream but went to a BBQ out in 90 degree humid weather. I used butter flavored crisco and added a little bit of salt to combat the overly sweet. With some raspberry and lemon extracts it was awesome and held up in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The icing is yummy but too sweet. I had to use three cups of sugar instead of four. I also used 2 1/2 table spoons of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I did not follow the recipe rather I took the advice of several people on here and just used all butter. I used 1 and a half stick butter, 2 cups of confectioner's sugar and vanilla extract. I didn't measure the vanilla I just used my judgment. I put red and blue food colouring to make a dusty rose. I did not need the milk at all. It turned out wonderful! I think 4 cups will be appropriate if you were making a huge amount of frosting otherwise I think 4 cups of sugar is a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great idea half butter/ half shortening! All butter would taste great, but would melt quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shynina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Yep. just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonsay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I love this recipe modified, but as is, it is TOO SWEET! The first time I made it, I followed others suggestions and used more butter than shortening (3/4c to 1/4c) and half the sugar, and it was amazing! This time, I used the even amount shortening and butter and 3c of sugar, and it was too sweet for me. But, this is coming from someone that doesn't like 80% of the frosting/icings out there. So, take it for what it is worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 942) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States