Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very sweet, be sure not to put too much on your cake or cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I really like it, but I used less confectioners sugar. I have a problem with my sugar. Using less made it very easy for spreading. I also made it another time and put some cocoa powder in it for a chocolate flavor and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is my go-to frosting recipe. I have done it both ways, with shortening and all butter, and for my purposes - just a thick layer on a cake, nothing fancy - I like it better with all butter. Definitely beat it on high for a couple of minutes to make it fluffy, too. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelcooking1
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Pretty good, I added extra vanilla and only used butter. Not big on shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I tried this recipe and, although it was delicious, I didn't much care for the mildly gritty texture. I look for butter creams that are smooth and fluffy like whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I think this is pretty good icing. After I prepared this icing i divided it in half and made some chocolate icing and some peanut butter. Although i made this adaption there was quite a lot of taste testing with the product before my small adaption.Me and my fiance had a hard time keeping our fingers out of the mixing bowl.It was not to sweet for us. Even if one less cup of sugar was used it would still be delicious( tasted it after adding 3 cups of sugar). Next time i make a cake I am pretty sure I am going to use this icing. It is going to be great on a strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Overall easy to make and good recipe but way too sweet. I only put in 3 cups of confectionary sugar and it was still too sweet for my taste. Next time I will only use 2 - I also used all butter as others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I decided to make this recipe exactly as stated--to be fair. I was less than impressed. It was too sugary--as others had stated. It made a beautiful cake, and it was easily spreadable. However, taste is where it lacked. My boys (who love sweets) were even less than impressed. If I decided to make this again (not likely), I would use less sugar--way less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States