Buttercream-Coconut Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Most buttercream frosting recipes are good, especially with some tweaking. This one is excellent without it. Rich, smooth,creamy and not too sweet. A little less powdered sugar in this recipe than most makes all the difference. I didn't add the pecans, and chose to sprinkle the coconut on top, but with or without those additions, this is one of the best buttercream frostings around. However, I always use hi-ratio shortening in any frosting recipe calling for shortening and it, too, makes all the difference. One recipe generously frosted 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Wow! So for me, I was looking for a recipe that didn't include anymore egg whites-I already used 3 for my cake- that would go along with my coconut cake. This icing is LOVELY. (I made this for mother's day and excluded the pecans-my mom's allergic) I also just put in a few hand fulls of coconut rather than a full bag, just enough for flavor. Once I iced my cake, I covered it with full on coconut chunks (unsweetened). It looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yummy frosting! Love the consistency by using 1 cup less of powdered sugar than my standard frosting. Tastes great on white cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is so perfect for my delicious almond joy cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianLittleMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palermo, Sicilia, Italy
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
No nuts and coconut was finely chopped into the cake ... but the frosting was divine! I use coconut milk in place of whole milk ... made the frosting really smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I used 1 stick of butter, 4 cups of confectioners sugar, 1/4 cup of milk and 1.5 tsp of vanilla extract and beat by hand. I tossed in two small handfuls of pecan chips and toasted 1 cup of coconut in the toaster oven, then crumbled it by hand when it was cool before mixing it into the frosting. WOW I can't believe how delicious it is on my Extreme Chocolate Cake (also on allrecipes.com)! Give it a try and I think you'll agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
If you love coconut ,well here you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made this icing, but I left out the coconut/nuts and added cocoa. Awesome consistency and taste! Cupcake snobs at my office were raving about it. My new go to buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very good but I deleted the 1/2 cup vegetable shortening for butter makeing the butter 1 cup instead. I also used unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ataraninja1
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just tried this and it looks and tastes awesome! My customer will be so pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States