Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LinnieDeLuxe
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This recipe is SO EASY!!! I am a total newbie to cooking so I was slightly nervous about taking this on. However, this recipe is SO FORGIVING - I highly suggest it! I used the recipe as listed, with the exception of the nuts and margarine: I used pecans instead of walnuts and butter instead of margarine. When I pulled my original batch out of the oven I realized I had forgotten the allspice…OOPS. I just sprinkled a little bit of the missing spice on top of each tart and they morphed into little bites of brilliance. With my previous error corrected I was still hopped up on my sugary success so I had to try these tasty tarts again. This time, I made the "naughty" version: I swapped the coconut out for 3/4 of a cup of drunk raisins. TO MAKE DRUNK RAISINS: put your raisins in a saucepan and add rum until the raisins are covered (I used Sailor Jerry's because it's delicious). Simmer the raisins in the rum until they are fat and full of liquor. Dump them right into your butter tart mixture. Swapping the coconut for raisins took these delectable little tarts from a mouthwatering modern edge to the timeless and tasty traditional butter tart. FOR MY AWESOME AMATEUR FRIENDS: I would suggest melting the butter on the lowest setting possible. It will give you lots of time to beat your eggs and make sure your spices are lined up and ready to go. Wink, wink, nudge, nudge. :) Personally, I prefer the naughty version: tradition trumps trendy every time. ENJOY! L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinnieDeLuxe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Oh My! These were by far the BEST butter tarts I've ever had. I used real butter, not margarine, substituted Pecans and Craisins and omitted the coconut. I also used pancake syrup instead of corn simply because I was out of corn syrup. The flavour is Amazing! I had to give this 5 stars because I don't think these can be improved on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I doubled this and it made a generous 5 doz. tarts. Good recipe but I left out some of the nuts and added raisins and a little vanilla to balance out the spices. Found it took a good 12-13 minutes at 400 but maybe that was just my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The best butter tarts I have ever tasted, I added 1 cup of raisans and no nutmeg. Other than that I kept it the same. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I don't know what happened but these were a total disaster. I was doubling the recipe as I went, forgot to use the feature on the page. I had waaay too much batter for the tarts. I will go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I used all butter since I don't buy margarine and pecans. Turned out great in both homemade pastry and frozen tart shells. I liked the spice flavours at first, but I think I'll cut back on them in the future, the cinnamon tends to dominate the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ookpikk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My family and I loved these tarts. They are not your typical sticky sweet butter tarts. I used pecans and unsweetened coconut vs raisins and walnuts. I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Instead of 1 cup of coconut and 1/2 cup of walnuts, I made them with 1 cup of peacans and 1/2 cup coconut. They turned out absolutely wonderful. They are different from your traditional butter tarts and I think that they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
By far, these are the absolute best Butter Tarts! I love the spices and the coconut. I no longer can eat the regular bland butter tarts that everyone else makes and thinks are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are the best butter tarts! When you are not a raisin fan butter tarts can be a put off. I used pecans and all butter (no margarine) I have used this recipe for the past couple x-mas's. YUM PS I buy the frozen tart shells to make my life a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SZOWTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States