Butter Tarts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shareasmiletoday
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
My family super enjoyed these. I made them in an extra-small muffin tin. Two bites of heavenly goodness. Added 2 raisins to the tarts prior to pouring the gooey goodness. Also,skipped the walnuts and added one whole pecan on the top after filling the tarts. Only because my husband prefers pecans over walnuts. Finally cooked in a preheated 200F oven for 15 minutes, then without removing the butter tarts, turn the oven up to 350F, for an additional 15 minutes. Soooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareasmiletoday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I've tried with nuts alone as my step-daughter won't eat raisins. Next batch exactly as above 5/5. 3rd batch did raisins and almonds cut down brown sugar by a 1/3 rd of a cup and replaced with maple syrup. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Loved these! Just like my Aunt Marg used to make! Definitely keep the raisins and divide them into the shells before filling so as not to have clumps of raisins in some and not in others...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are so yummy and so very easy as i used premade tart shells. The cook time is waayyyy to high I did mine for 10 mins at 400 and then about 10-15 mins on 350. I tripled the recipe and it made 60 medium sized tarts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These are the best using 1/4 c butter and 1/3c corn syrup or maple syrup. Recipe made 12 large butter tarts, I cook them 8 min at 400 then 5 min at 350. I like mine gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
HA! I've been looking for this recipe for years! This is great!! I followed the other reviewers' advice and put the raisins in the bottom and then poured the filling over that. They plumped up really nicely. Also, I used muffin tins and just lined those with pastry. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome! I followed the advice of putting the raisins in the shells first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts and only put them in some of the tarts not all. Everything else I did the same. I used the Best Ever Pie crust from this site (awsome crust!) and they tasted nice... not to sweet, just how I like them. My tarts did overflow a bit... think I filled them a bit too full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Excellent! I added the raisins to the shells, and then poured the mix over. I also used home made pastry as opposed to the premade...My husband and kids LOVED them! Definately a keeper here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States