Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
To prevent the overflow, lower your oven temp to 305. Cook the same time as indicated but you're able to fill to 3/4 full with out the lava flow. I add a tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt. Good recipe. I've made several times and they disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made these today and they are soooooo delicious! I followed some the other suggestions and added 1 tsp of vanilla and put my raisins and nuts on the bottom of the pastry first. I will definitely be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this a few times and instead of heavy cream I used vanilla greek yogurt. I dont like rasins so I didnt put them in but i had no problem with them firming up and they turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Best ever, ran out of seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These did not turn out like the ooey gooey butter tarts I was hoping for. I do intend to give these one more try but I think I may be still on the hunt for my favorite butter tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I think these are the closest I have got to perfect butter tarts. Taste just like my Nannie's and that is hard to match!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liang13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Yes, the filling is excellent. Had a bit of a problem with my pastry, which is unusual. A few of them fell apart because the bottom remained wet, so I baked again for 10 minutes, then ended up baking again for another 15...now they are great! The filling I must repeat is the best I've come across to date. I'll do 5 stars because I think the pastry problem was mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Excellent recipe! Tarts turned out perfect. Followed recipe as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These were delicious!! Like another reviewer, i added vanilla and put walnuts and raisins in tart shells before the sauce. Also only used 1/2 cup raisins as the walnuts and raisins filled the tarts halfway. I filled the tarts with the sauce to the rim of the tart and had no problems. This recipe is a keeper!! By the way, not dry at all but maybe that was because i only used 1/4 of the raisins!! Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States