Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I found this recipe unbearably sweet. I would reduce the brown sugar by 1/2 cup. My frozen tart shells which were thawed did not cook even though I baked at 325 for 30 mins. Next time I will reduce sugar and bake longer or at higher temp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are perfect!! Authentic French Canadian Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very simple recipe to follow and they were delicious! I did add the vanilla like someone else suggested and I'm glad I did.When the recipe says to only fill the tarts half full listen as they do rise up alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very good! I baked these for my dad who is very picky and doesn't like change! He always makes butter tarts from his mom's recipe (which is also very good), but I wanted to try another recipe. While I was baking them, I even told my husband "DON'T tell my dad that I used another recipe!" But he loved them! I omitted the walnuts because my dad probably would have disowned me if I made them with any kind of nuts :) Very good. Easy to make if you use store-bought tart shells. Next time I will use my dad's recipe to use the tart shells, and this recipe to use the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eunoia
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
So good and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eunoia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Tasted great. I didn't have cream on hand so I used 1 TBSP 2% milk and 1 TBSP vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I thought these were one of the best I have made so far, and everyone agreed at Christmas time. Although I did not put the walnuts in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These were wonderful! I did add the vanilla as another person suggested and I was glad I did. My only wish is I could put more "stuff" in them. But since they rise quite high while baking, it is important not to over-fill them, or you will end up with a mess! TIP: If you are starting off with frozen shells, pop them in the oven for 5 minutes UNFILLED to ensure they will be fully cooked when the filling is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
True butter tarts always have corn syrup in them!!! Butter tarts are a Canadian born dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I needed a recipe without corn syrup and I found this one. It's very tasty, very delicious! It's a hit and it's a definite keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States